Mac Mini Resolution Question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Afro1989, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. Afro1989 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #1
    Hey people. I was wondering if I bought an HDTV that displays the resolution 1366x768, could my Mac Mini display it correctly? I don't wan't to buy the $800 26" HDTV and then not be able to use my Mac Mini on it properly.

    Anyway, I searched the forums and I couldn't find an answer. Thanks to anyone who helps me out.
     
  2. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #2
    It should work fine, as that resolution is lower than Apple's 20" display, and mini's can run that thing just fine...
     
  3. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for the response. :)

    I read in another thread similar to this one and some guy said this:

    "first off, most HDTV's run odd resolutions (crap like 1366x768)

    all you need to do is get a DVI - HDTV cable, and download the app (cant remember what the name is right now, that allows you to run other resolutions other than the native OS X resolutions...)

    Also, you could just run overscan..."


    What is he talking about? Is this necessary? Will I need to do this with my HDTV in order to display my Mac Mini in 1366x768 if it already has a DVI port? So much confusion!! AHH! :p
     
  4. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #4
    A link to the HDTV u purchased would be fantastic :) .
     
  5. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #5
    I haven't purcahsed it yet, that's the problem. :D I'm asking this question in order to know if my Mac mini would work on it so that I can go ahead and read some reviews and then purcahse the thing.

    Anyway, here it is. Thanks for being so helpful. I love helpful people.
     
  6. HckySo macrumors 6502

    HckySo

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    turn around
    #6
    Isn't there someone on this forum that has the same TV (actually the model before that one) on his mini?
     
  7. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #7
    Picture Gallery = Mac mini Resolution questions ????
     
  8. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #8
    Yeah, sorry. I meant to put this thread in the help section but I was in a rush.

    I hope there is someone on this forum who uses their HDTV's wacky resolution for their Mac Mini.
     
  9. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
  10. HckySo macrumors 6502

    HckySo

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    turn around
    #10
    Hmm I thought I remember N10248 having a Mini Mac. But he does have a similar HD TV and he might know something about that.
     
  11. vi2867 macrumors 6502

    vi2867

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    #11
    I have this similar issue. I have a Mac Mini and wanted to use with a Vizio "37 LCD. I used a DVI to HDMI cable, but I was only able to use a smaller resolution than the default of 1366 x 788. I tried using SwitchResX to add this resolutions to my preferences and now I have major problems. Every time I change my resolution my screen goes black and the only way to fix this is going into safe mode and changing the resolution.

    I just want to fix resolution back to the way it was.:(

    Any suggestions?
     
  12. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #12
    I run my mac mini through my TV at 1680 x 1050 through a DVI cable, there is another resolution that I think is 1370 x 860, something along those lines. I would suggest you check the HDTV has a DVI or VGA input first before purchasing, and then run a DVI or VGA cable into the TV, as it'll be far easier than doing the DVI to HDMI adapter route...
     
  13. rshanahan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    North East, MD
    #13
    I'm running my mini through an LG 42" 720p (not sure of the model but purchased it on Black Friday) and running at 1366x768 perfectly with no black bands. Using a DVI-HDMI cable purchased off Ebay (cheap). I did not install any other resolution software, running perfectly by just setting up that resolution in Display properties.

    I will post a picture tonight to conform to this forum's rules :eek:
     
  14. Dentifrice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #14
    I'm running a mac mini at 1366x768 and works flawlessly.

    But I use VGA port on my TV.
     

Share This Page