mac mini .. should i consider it?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by bearbo, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #1
    okay.. i'm recycling thread

    so i somehow want to get a mac mini.. and just now i suddenly realized that i might not need it as much as i think i do

    if i get it, that will replace a IBM T40P running XP pro.. of course, i'll still keep that

    that mac mini will be used to do some web browsing, MS office, perhaps photoshoping

    i dont know if the mac mini (PPC version, most likely, unless you can convince me otherwise) will be able to handle them smoothly.. i don't want to be able to feel that it's significantly slower than my MBP at those tasks. especially when those apps are not native to MBP but native to PPC
    will i be satisfied with the speed of Office and light photoshop?

    i'm sure itunes will be just fine on a mac mini

    also will leopard be able to run on that nicely?

    i'll be also using that as a server, so even if i take my mbp out, i can still access my data on my harddrives at home


    does the PPC mac mini have dial up port?

    okay.. give me some advice on your experience with the mac mini.. and if you think i should possibly consider another machine?

    thanks a bunch!


    here's the original question.. if you are curious what the first few responses are for

    here's more questions
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    You can add a superdrive, and 1 stick of 1GB RAM. There are some ways of overclocking the G4 Mini's, through soldering. My gf has a 1.25Ghz Mini with the full 1GB of RAM, and Office flies on it. Don't really know about Photoshop on it, sorry. It's quite snappy on the whole, though.

    As for ethernet, you've got 10/100Base-T on it, and that's non-upgradeable. No upgrade slots, I'm afraid, and it's all built-in to the motherboard.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #3
    Office can be productively used on an original Pentium, and photoshop work is still done by some on 1998 original G3's. Use that to put some perspective on your own questions, and you'll have your own answers.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    so i recycled my thread... updated the first post, any help will be greatly appreciated!

    oh yeah... does mac mini run aperture?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #5
    no - you could figure that out for yourself, though, with a bit of searching on Apple's website...:rolleyes: (was it you who got mad at someone for not searching earlier...or am I mistaken???)

    EDIT: It was :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #6
    well, haha... i'm sorry my question wasn't clear... i did found on apple's website that mac mini intel can do aperture, but i wondered whether the inability of mini PPC to do aperture is because it's not recommended, or there's something underlying preventing it from doing it..

    and i didn't get mad at him, he got mad at me for point it out.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #7
    The early versions of the PPC Mini had a modem port, the high-end ones later did not. You'll just have to check on the one you want to get that it has a modem.

    I love my Mini, and actually got it since I was so impressed by my girlfriends PPC Mini. They're very capable machines, even more so if you already have a monitor and are on a budget.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Braunschweig, Germany
    #8
    do it. :)

    I love my Mac Mini.

    It's not the newest, latest, fastest thing on Earth, but it's still faster than my mom's PC. I'm a senior in high school and use Office on it daily to do assignments for school. The only drawback is (as mentioned) the limited ability to expand.

    Photoshop works fine on it, too.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Location:
    B-Town, India
    #9
    Can the mini realistically support two monitors? I've seen the DVI and VGA outs on the back, does it let you get away with the dual hookup, does it yell at you to pick one, or does the whole thing slow to nothing and you end up plugging in one?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #10
    i believe since the graphic card doesn't really support it... if you split the signal, you'll get mirrored on the 2 screens
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #11
    The Mini only has a single DVI-output, that's it. It comes with a DVI-VGA adapter, though. You can hook up two monitors with a signal splitter as mentioned above, and that'll make it think it has one big monitor stretched across two. It doesn't look that great, and is only doable with VGA, which makes it look worse. Your best bet is simply to go with the biggest single monitor it can handle (1920x1200 resolution).
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #12
    You won't be very pleased with its performance. It is fairly slow on even my Macbook Pro (2.33), I never even tried running it on my Mini.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #13
    i know... it's just above satisfaction on my MBP... i dont know who is supposed to be able to run it good..
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    #14

    My new Intel Mac Mini CD will quite happily run Photoshop CS2 and Aperture 1.5 (universal binary) I haven't encountered any problems.

    The Mini has only one video out ........ DVI.
    Although it comes with a DVI to Analogue (15 pin D plug) converter

    Although I mainly use a 2 Ghz G5 PowerMac, I frequently use the Mac Mini for Photoshop tasks. A great little machine.

    Regards from Ireland

    Dave :)
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Swarmlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #15
    If you already have a monitor, a keyboard and a mouse and especially if you have several other computers around the house, I think that it's an ideal addition.
     
  16. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #16
    I'm confused as to what you're asking, buttttt....

    I'm using a G4 mini. When I render movies in iMovie, I go to bed. But I use it to surf the web, I used to use it for some light photoshop work and it was alright if I wasn't doing much else with it. It has a modem, and well, I have the base G4. I upgraded the ram to 512 and gave it bt/AP (yes it only had 256mb RAM and bt/ap were add ons once upon a time) and it's still going strong for me. I plan on upgrading from Panther to Leopard when it gets released, but for what I use it for it's fine.

    P.S. I just tried applying a bas relief filter to a 4mp picture, and it took about 6 seconds. I was also rendering a movie in iMovie too though... so yeah it's pretty usable. if you're using it for smaller images (ie website design, or just cropping and whatnot) you'll be fine with a G4. Ram is good though.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #17
    How many GB of ram you have on the mini ?
    Working on large files the 5400 rpm hardrive of the mini is a problem in PS ?

    I'm wodering if I can fit with a mini + 2GB of ram for work with PS2 and lightroom ( canon eos 5d files ).

    have you tryed lightroom ?
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #18
    wow... i was barely satisfied with my MBP's ability to run Aperture... and not even that satisfied with photoshop
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    #19
    Hi 2 Gb of ram in the Intel Core Duo Mini ...... Goes great. I originally had one of the first Mac Mini's, it was not great with Photoshop but the New Intel version is much faster

    My Camera is the EOS 350D (Rebel XT) and I don't use Raw files.

    Sorry haven't tried Lightroom, perhaps I'll download the Beta and give it a try.

    Cheers
    Dave :)
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    #20
    Hi Sorry, I should have made it clear ....... I don't have both running at the same time. One or the other.

    Intel core duo Mac Mini with 2 Gb of ram.

    Dave :)
     
  21. macrumors regular

    rneglia

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #21
    A Mini Yes-Man

    I have this exact set-up. Mini into 1920x1200. It rules. The mini can handle anything!!!

    Get Mini'ed!!!
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #22
    i know, not have them at the same time

    does it work like... never give you spin wheels and always very fast?
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Location:
    B-Town, India
    #23
    Thanks. I don't even have a mini, I saw an image on the back of a box and was just curious.
     
  24. macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #24
    I think the performance of Office and Photoshop will be quite subjective.

    Some say it is as good as PPC speeds, but I try to avoid running anything non universal (like Office) on my 2.33Ghz MBP if I can help it, it just feels too sluggish for me, especially Excel with a decently large spreadsheet open.

    Bootcamp is still the way to go to get native speeds for some productivity apps until they go universal next year.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #25
    Just do it! Its great to have and fun to work with!:)
     

Share This Page