Mac Mini to HDTV

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by roland.g, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #1
    I need to hook up a Mac Mini next week to a Sony Plasma HDTV.

    I can't use the HDMI or DVI input per Sony. They say it doesn't support a computer. The input isn't on the tv, but rather a Sony HDTV Sat Receiver/Tuner that feeds everything to the wall mounted panel.

    I then am looking at either RCA/S-Video or Component. I had heard that you could hook up a Mini via DVI to Component Converter/Cable from Radio Shack but have been unable to find that. Can only find VGA to Component converter boxes and cables.

    Don't know if I need a VGA to Component converter box or cable. I know Apple also sells a DVI to RCA/S-Video adapter, though I have heard mixed reviews and that it only supports 480 on the tv. I would like to get 1920x1080 on the tv. It's a 42".

    Anyone done this? Know what I need and where to get it? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #2
    I asked this same question the other day and never got a reply :( hopefully we will get answer this time. I have an LG 42" Plasma and I am interested in hooking up my MB.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #3
    I'd say plug in the DVI > VGA adapter, then a VGA > component converter, should cost less than $40.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #4
    A Cable or Converter Box?

    The cables run $15, whereas the boxes I've seen for $85-$120.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #5
    I'd give the DVI-HDMI cable a go, sony is probably saying windows will not run with it, OS X might.

    also, check what res the TV is natively and make the mini run that res, if it's a true 1080p panel then run that, but if it's 720p (more likely) run that that res as things will be sharper
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Most likely what they mean is that it'll require some weird sync / res combination. You can probably use switchresx to get what you need once you have it plugged in....

    And yes, I do have to note, it's like half of MR (including moi) bought LCD or Plasma TVs this season... there have been about 10 of these threads in the last month!
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #7
    I'm thinking the same as Mord. Give it a shot. I don't think it's a Mac or PC issue, since the HDTV would never know the difference. In fact, the HDMI standard is backwards compatible with DVI.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #8
    I'll have to give switchresx a shot if needed. It is a 3 year old (maybe 4) Sony Plasma. It uses a black cable and a white cable from the Tuner to the TV. And it uses a DVI-DVI (I think) cable from the Sony SatHD300 rec'vr to the Tuner. There are no inputs on the Sat rec'vr other than the Coax's for the DirecTV signal (I'm pretty sure) and the Tuner has 1 DVI input and 2 Component inputs. The DVI is in use by the SAT rec'vr, so I think I'm stuck using the Component, just not sure if the VGA->Component Cable will work or if I need a Converter Box to do it. It's my dad's tv and he'll be buying the Mini off me in the spring, so we just want to check that it works first. Last time I had a look at the tv was in October when I went to visit.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Wait, so I'm sorry, I saw and glossed over the DVI-in-use issue. Is a DVI switchbox also an option? They shouldn't be too too expensive....
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    #10
    I am trying to do the same thing, hooking a mac mini up to a sony LCD, the KDL46XBR2. I actually bought a DVI to HDMI adapter and a HDMI cable. But the signal is showing up black, or no signal. However, I can use the DVI to VGA adapter that came with the Mini Mac, and connect via a VGA cable to the flatscreen. But I want to have a digital connection. Is it really the Sony TV that is rejecting the HDMI signal from the Mac?

    Thanks!!
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #11
    See also the discussion Mac Mini And HDTV.

    I had same black screen problem using DVI to HDMI from mini to Sony LCOS RPTV. But some times I get a good screen. Not sure if the mini has weak outputs or the Sony is the problem.
     

Share This Page