Mac Networking Help

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by bostonwhaler1, Oct 15, 2004.

1. bostonwhaler1 macrumors member

Hi guys,

My dad has enlisted my help in setting up a network at his largely Mac-based office. I am however not an expert in networking, but I’d say I’m an advanced to expert Mac user. I am looking basically for any information I can get about setting up a server (probably Xserve) and how one goes about setting up a Mail server etc. I’m basically starting from scratch here and am wondering if there are any online resources for this kind of thing. I intend to enlist in Apple’s server training courses where I’m sure I’ll learn most of this stuff, but I do want to have a certain level of understanding before I embark on the project. Basically, any insight you guys can give would be MUCH appreciated.
    I’ve always appreciated the help MacRumors folks have given me.

Thanks in advance.

2. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

redAPPLE

os x is unix-based. so maybe reading up on unix would be a good start...

3. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

crazzyeddie

OS X Server has a GUI that is so idiot-proof that you should have absolutely no problems figuring it out. If you have specific questions, most of the answers can be found with a simple Google search.

4. Westside guy macrumors 601

Westside guy

I'd imagine the hard part here isn't OS X Server itself - it's the specifics of getting mail routed to your mailserver from the outside, and so on.