Mac OS 7.5.5

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by milkeyway1000, Nov 23, 2004.

  1. milkeyway1000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #1
    HI,

    I just bought a Macintosh LC580 at the yard sale the other day and my problem is this. The Mac has OS 7.5.5 on it but the previous user didnt remover the password on it so im stuck to a paper weight right now....does any one know of a program that i could run on this machine to get rid of the passwords so i can accually use it? (note:did not come with OS 7.5.5 disk)
     
  2. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #2
    Go back to the guy You bought it from and ask for the password.
     
  3. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
  4. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #4
    Sorry... what password? System 7 (or Mac OS 8/9) did not come with password protection for the system from a physical user.

    The Appleshare password can be changed by anyone with physical access to the system, but that wouldn't stop you from having access to the system.

    Some screen savers had passwords, but as they were not part of the system you could disable them by starting with the extensions off.

    As this does not sound like a native part of System 7.5, more information would be helpful. :rolleyes:
     
  5. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #5
    it has...

    apperently it belonged to a school before, so when you bootup it goes to a "Welecome to the Macintosh Computer Lab". i cant get into it. nobody knows the passwords...what do i do??? a mac os disk would help but i dont got none...
     
  6. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    Apple has the System 7.5.3 disks available for download off of their old/obsolete software page. Here is the link, but you need to find the stuff! Quite a long list, eh? Anyway, download the Network Access floppy, and place it on a floppy. Then stick it into your LC. Play with it and see if you can wipe the hard drive. Then take the other system disks, download them, and dump them onto a CD. When started off of the Network Access disk run the first disk image on the CD. Install. Then, once System 7.5.3 is running, download the 7.5.5 updater from that same page and install it.

    That old LC isn't a paperweight. My aunt has one of these for a Special Ed class, and they work day in and day out. Long live Macintosh Quality! Literally, I might add.

    Oh, and it is "I don't have any" instead of "I don't got none" ;)
     
  7. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #7
    Oh... that sounds like they had At Ease installed.

    That is messy software (specially to remove), you might want to do a little research before attempting anything further (if there was software on the system you wanted).

    Because At Ease modifies the disk (so you can't boot around it), the only real solution is a fresh install (if you don't have the password) including reformatting the drive. You can find 7.5.3 install floppy images in the link in the previous post and you can find the 7.5.3 tools boot disk here.

    At Ease was never fun to try and work around. :eek:
     
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    The LC580 can run MacOS 8.1. Get an 8.1 CD, and install it if you have the RAM.
     
  9. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #9
    I would stick with 7.5 because it is: 1) Free 2) Works best on that age of a computer. And where do you buy an OS 8 CD anyways these days?
     
  10. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #10
    i have 8 and 8.5 in their boxes from back in the day

    and im sure many other people browsing these forms who have had macs for a long time would have them laying around too


    although, shipping costs aren't really worth it
     
  11. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    It could be Mac Prefect installed. Looks like a re-install of the system
     
  12. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #12
    Don't bother with os 8.x on a LC580. I've got a Centris 610 (28mb ram) and it ran os 8.1 badly, os 7.5 and 7.6 few on it!
     
  13. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #13
    i got it working!!!

    ok, i make a network access disk, which allowed me to get into the mac hd. i deleted everything that had to do with "AtEase", and i rebooted and it booted into to the os just fine and its now usuable...but does any one know of an internet browser that i could install on this?? (mac is 33mhz i think, 32mb ram, 800mb hdd)

    (no AtEase now!!! :) )
     
  14. 40167 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    #14
    Netscape 4 would work... i'm running that on my performa 630CD with 7.5.3; which right now is actualy my main computer that ive been using for like a week now while my other one gets repaired.
     
  15. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #15
    where would i get that? and one other note: in has netscape navigator 3 on it. but if i try to open a web page, it loads to a point, then the mac just freezes....
     
  16. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #16
    Meet my friend, the floppy disk:
    [​IMG]

    And I would recommend wiping the Hard Drive and reinstalling System 7 off of a CD (Drag and drop the 19 floppy disk images onto a CD, burn it, bring it over to that LC and while it is started off the Network Access floppy open the CD and install System 7 onto the HD). That way, you have a nice, clean, computer with no gunk anywhere. Use a CD-RW to transfer Netscape, Stuffit, etc, onto it once it is running nicely.

    And I say to wipe it out so that there is no gunk, no fragmentation, no nothing. Just a nice, clean, good-as-new LC. It will live longer than you, I'll bet.
     
  17. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #17
    hmm

    did that....didnt work.....
     
  18. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #18
    Great description of the problem!
    Was it a stuffit archive of the program? Stuffit Expander is the most essential piece of software you can have on a Mac... Especially the older ones, a lot of software comes as BinHex or MacBinary files.
     
  19. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #19
    Id AtEase is installed, all you have to do is startup with the SHIFT key depressed. That will get you around the password. I remember that from back in the day in school.

    EDIT: Sorry. I hadn't seen that you had solved the problem.
     
  20. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #20
    ok...

    ok now i got that problem fixed..i have one more question....does anyone know where i could get printer drivers for a Apple Sytle WritesII? i have one i want to hook up to it, but its no good to me w/ out those drivers!!! :mad:
     
  21. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #21
    oops!!!

    i was able to reinstall the mac os 7.5.5...now i lost stuffit expander..oops.....how do i get it back on there so i can put programs on it.....????
     
  22. 40167 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    #22
    http://www.nodc.noaa.gov/woce_V2/disk01/utils/browsers/netscape/mac/68k/

    Yeah, I dunno but this system had like netscape 2.something on it, crashed like crazy... with 4 youll want to disable javascript, stylesheets and autoinstall... As I left those on and it was terrably slow at loading anything.
     
  23. milkeyway1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #23
    hmm...

    how do i get it on this mac with out stuffit expander????
     
  24. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #24
    Download stuffit expander, place it on a floppy or CD, and then bring it to that Mac. It is a PITA to set up an old Mac like that-- without the internet, it is amazing what you can't do! So yeah, stuffit goes onto that computer, then using that same method of transfer Netscape goes over too.
     
  25. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #25
    Your post certainly brings back memories. I remember downloading 7.5.5 to numerous floppy disks. Those were the days of installation. "Please put in the next disk." :D
     

Share This Page