Mac OS 8.6 and PC Networking

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Bobdude161, Mar 12, 2006.

  1. Bobdude161 macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #1
    Yo I'm settin up a little network consisting of two PCs and a Performa 5260 running OS 8.6 runnin through a router. Both PCs are setup, fine and dandy with the internets and sharing and such, but kinda lost on bringin in the Mac into the network. I've done Mac-to-Mac via Appletalk before, but that ain't really what I'm goin up against here. I remembered a few sites that I saw a while ago that had info on such things but those links are starting to disappear :( . Such a shame. People are abandoning Classic... :( :( . Other than that, can you hook me up some info on this networking situation?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #3
    naw

    naw man i already saw that one. i'm thinking there's someting more descriptive out there
     
  4. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #4
    naw

    naw man i already saw that one. i'm thinking there's someting more descriptive out there
     
  5. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #5
    naw

    naw man i already saw that one. i'm thinking there's someting more descriptive out there
     
  6. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #6
    naw

    naw man i already saw that one. i'm thinking there's someting more descriptive out there
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Do you quadruple click often? :eek: :p

    But (is also mentioned in the article mad jew refers to), use Dave to make it easy.
     
  8. TangoCharlie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    #8
    atalkd

    OK, this is slightly off-topic, but I use Linux and atalkd to share files between my Mac (UMAX C500) and our Windows network. i.e. I've got a Linux box running atalkd and samba... and the Mac (OS 8.1) runs vanilla AppleTalk networking.

    However, one of the other posters mentioned "Dave" and it is something I remember from way-back.... but I can't say anymore than that!

    Another, somewhat bizare approach could be Netware.... Novel used to have Mac clients for netware. :)

    Best of luck!!
     
  9. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #9
    cool. wow i posted the same thing like 5 times. ah well, thnx yall
     
  10. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #10
    ok i got it, how do i register it? i went to www.thursby.com but they only give registering for version 6 and my mac can only support version 5.1. where do i register?
     
  11. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #11
    nvm, it can support 6.1 as well :) , but damn is it expensive or what???
     
  12. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    Try this:

    Just set the PC up for networking.

    Then, go to Apple Menu -> Chooser -> (something like type in IP address) and that might work, just a suggestion. :)
     

Share This Page