Mac OS 9 on MAc Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by joey4127, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. joey4127 macrumors 6502

    joey4127

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    #1
    I want to run the "Classic OS 9" On my Mac Mini but It says I don't have it installed. But shouldn't it be installed from the begining? Or do I need to actually buy it?
     
  2. TMA macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #2
    It doesn't come pre-installed but it should be on one of the discs that came with the machine. Off the top of my head it's on a disc called 'Additional Applications'

    Once this is installed you will be able to startup Classic within Mac OS X. I'm curious to know which program do you need to run that uses OS 9? OS 9 is all but dead now.
     
  3. redeye be macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #3
    My mini came with a "Mac OS 9 Install disk". Probably exactly what you need ;).
     
  4. ja0912 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    #4
    on a seperate note:

    I doubt you'd be able to actually boot into OS 9 on your Mac mini. Should run Apps in "classic mode" great though!
     
  5. jaymenna78734 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    #5
    Will run as classic only

    You will not be able to get the mini to boot in 9. However it runs classic just fine (i have a pesky app that im too freaking lazy to rewrite --and use classic daily)
     
  6. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    It's disabled via firmware. So no OS 9 for you! Just OS X and up!
     
  7. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #7
    There should definitely be a grey disc with 'additional software' or some such, included in your Mini box. Install that and then ditch the inclusive OS9 programs you don't want.
     
  8. TMA macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #8
    I'm not quite sure that's really true. Although it might be disabled in the firmware the real reason you can't boot OS 9 is that it just wouldn't work. OS 9 is old and not written to be used on new machines.

    Will work great in classic mode though
     
  9. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #9
    It iS disabled in firmware, but your right-- OS 9 wouldn't run on a G5 (heck even 10.2.7 and below wouldn't) and all the new stuff would make it hard for OS 9 to cope. But the MDD, which could dual-boot, were later disabled in firmware.
     

Share This Page