Mac OS - System Install CD

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by designer37, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. designer37 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #1
    hi, i have 2 G4 desktop computers. The older runs on OS8.6 while the newer runs OSX. Im in the process of cleaning off the old G4 and wanting to install OSX on it - if possible. I tried putting the OSX CD into the old G4 but it rejects the disk everytime, giving me a message to reformat the CD or Eject. Is this not possible or is there a different way I can do this? Any help would be much appreciated. thanks!
     
  2. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    That's really strange, but there might be a way around it. If it is just something strange happening with the drive, then you might be able to use your other computer's drive to install. If the computers are near each other, or can be moved, then you are in luck. You'll also need a firewire cable (don't bother buying one, as it would be a waste for this untested scheme I have...). Put the OS X install disk in the computer running OS X. Shut down the computer running OS X, and start it back up holding the T key. Then run the Firewire cable between the computer running OS X and the computer running 8.6. In a moment (sometimes it takes a while with a FW target disk mode) you will see the hard drive and the install disk from the computer running OS X appear on the desktop of the computer running 8.6. You should be able to install from the disk in the computer running OS X.

    If this doesn't work, then you can try starting up the computer running 8.6 in FW Target Disk Mode (hold T) and running the OS X installer in OS X, installing onto the other computer's hard drive mounted via firewire.

    Now if you don't have a firewire cord this wouldn't work...

    Best of Luck! :)
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    My first guess is that either the CD is dirty, the G4's CD drive is dirty, or both are dirty. Does the CD work on other computers? If yes, then the cause probably isn't the CD. Does the G4 accept other CDs? If yes, then maybe the drive isn't at fault. If both are true, then...I'm stumped.
     
  4. designer37 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #4
    Cool. That was alot of info to follow. I will definitely give it a try. Fortunately, both computers are up and running and almost right next to each other. And I think I have a firewire cable somewhere too. Thanks again and I'll let you know if it works or not. :)
     
  5. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    OS 8.6 stumped me often...It almost always turned out to be something completely unexplainable, but that could be remedied rather easily. I had to deal with 8.6 for 4 years...urgh.
     
  6. designer37 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #6

    The CDs are fine from what I can tell. The OSX Cd is basically brand new and does work on the newer G4. Maybe a computer running OS 8.6 is unable to read an OSX CD?? possible?? Thanks for the reply though! :)
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    Now that I think about it, I don't think Mac OS X likes being installed on a hard drive containing a version of the Mac OS older than 9.0. That might be the cause of the problem; even if it does work, you won't be able to use the Classic environment.
     
  8. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #8
    okay, not to insult you, so please don't get mad:

    are you sure it's a cd and not a dvd? if your higher end g4 came with a superdrive, you may have osx on dvd there...

    *ducks if i'm steppin on toes*

    matt
     
  9. designer37 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #9

    BINGO!! I just looked at my CD and thats what it was. A DVD. I never even thought to check that out beforehand. Thanks to you and everyone else that helped. I guess I just have to buy OSX on CD if I want to install it on the older G4. thanks again everone!
     
  10. designer37 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #10

    Better yet, I will try OutThere761 suggestion. that should work!! :)
     
  11. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #11
    This has happened to me once it turned out the cd was a bad COPY :p

    Uh oh, SpaceMagic broke the rules arghh

    Anyway, if none of the above works, take hard disk out of Old put as second drive in Newer G4 install there on that disk, put the disk back in old G4... bob's your uncle, and all that :)

    Have fun, OS X is well worth the screw drivering (I was going to write screwing but it would be rude :p)
     
  12. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    I didn't even know that OS X came on DVDs....come to think of it, even though all the iBook G4s have combo drives they seem to have neglected to put OS X on a DVD, leaving me with 3 panther disks, 5 system restore disks, a hardware test disk, and a world book Cd. Urgh. Well, good luck with the installation...I hope that everything goes well! :)
     
  13. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #13
    no wonder.....


    do you have a copy of 9 lying around? 8.6 cannot be upgraded to X. You have to upgrade it to 9 first:

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/questions/howto.html

    you can purchase 9 from apple for 19.95 (S&H i think).
     
  14. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #14
    Duff-Man says....not to keep harping on the same subject....but if your G4 did not come with OS X and you are using a copy from another computer you are violating the license agreement. Go buy a legit CD copy and install from there.....oh yeah!
     

Share This Page