Mac OS X 10.4 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lewie109, Feb 21, 2006.

  1. lewie109 macrumors member

    lewie109

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    As you all know I have a iBook G3 800mhz 386 RAM. 27.9GB Free on my HD. Do I meet the requirements to upgrae to 10.4 (Tiger) I currently have 10.3.9 installed now.

    Thanks,
    Lewie:) :) :cool: :cool:
     
  2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    If that has a drive that can read DVD's then you should be fine. Apple's site only says you need 256 ram and a g3,g4,g5 processor.. i think. Ask around more, but I'm almost positive you'll be fine - so long as you have a dvd reading drive.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    It'll be fine but Tiger uses much more RAM than Panther so maybe get a bit more. Aim for 512MB as the minimum. :)
     
  4. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    I have recently upgraded my mini (original) to Tiger, and I can say it seems much slower overall in 512MB memory than Panther did. I may go back to using Panther, since 10.3.9 never gave me any problems and seemed quicker. If you do upograde, clone your Panther install to an external disk first so that you can easily get back to it if you decide to do so.
     
  5. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #5
    i bought my ibook 12" standard hardware all around. 512 ram works alright for daily use.. safari, itunes, an instant messenger client, word processing, etc. I use garageband often too and that works well - it's slow at loading different instruments/drum kits at times though. With your processor speed, I'd definetely recommend upgrading the ram. I'm considering doing it with my own machine.
     
  6. lewie109 thread starter macrumors member

    lewie109

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    #6
    It Has a 128mb built in and I put a 256mb RAM in the slot. I did'nt swap cards I put another in. Do you see what I mean?


     
  7. lewie109 thread starter macrumors member

    lewie109

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    #7
    If I would get Tiger I would get it from my school. I'm shure it is not DVD, because last week we upgraded our iMacs in the "Mac Lab". It's my favorate place!!:cool:

     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    I actually would recommend against it.

    I have some loaner iBooks here that are the same spec as yours (except maxed out on RAM), and under Panther they were still pretty quick.. I tried Tiger on one to use as a test before moving to Active Directory. MAN that thing is sluggish as HELL. Tiger is significantly more processor intensive than Panther, and the G3 is just not up to par IMO.

    If I were you, I'd save my pennies for a new Mac and stick with Panther.
     
  9. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #9
    I just installed 10.4 on a mac mini and i can see it running slower already. I just finished teh install like an hour ago and already it takes a few secs more to do the same actions. I will be adding adding a 1GB ram which will help.
     
  10. ke2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Location:
    big hell country
    #10
    mine is exactly cpu as yours but ram is 640mb.
    you are risking two things upgrad to Tiger
    1.) brightness control would be lost, yes, it is not solve yet in tiger.
    2.) slow. I have upgrade from 386. It runs ok in Panther.

    My suggestion is install in a firwire HD and keeps panther or the other way round.
    Turn off dashboard and use spotless disable certain HD index. yes, you woudn't need spotlight a lot. it is kinda crap. You will know.
     
  11. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #11
    I recommend at least the full 640MB of memory, if not trying to cram 1.125GB in there...Tiger will suffer and die on 256.
     
  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    AFAIK, those models only support 640MB of RAM?
     
  13. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    It will suffer and die on 512 too, but maybe not quite so fast. I already upgraded my mini once (from 256 to 512) and don't want to have to do it again for the privilege of running Tiger. Panther ran just fine in 512 (even 256 was not bad).
     

Share This Page