Mac OS X Clipboard not working...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacEffects, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. MacEffects macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Darkspear
    #1
    I have the newest version of Mac OS X, not I can not copy or paste!!! I really need these (yeah, I'm just a bit lazy) :D ... How can this just stop working, and how do I fix this? Please let me know.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Which apps are you trying it with? In Finder, when you use the Edit menu to Show Clipboard, what comes up? Repaired permissions recently?
     
  3. MacEffects thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Darkspear
    #3

    I've tried this in Text Edit, Finder, Safari, IE, Firefox, and others.

    The Clipboard shows something I copied about half a month ago (and it I can not even highlight), and it I can not paste it anywhere any way, nor can I copy/cut.

    I've never repaired permissions, don't know how.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, you can repair permissions from Disk Utility by selecting your hard drive on the left hand side and clicking Repair Permissions. Disk Utility is in your Utilities folder within Applications. :)
     
  5. SummerBreeze macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    If you've been using the keyboard shortcuts, trying using the edit menu instead. Maybe there is either a problem with one or the other, if you can isolate it there may be a way to fix it.
     
  6. MacEffects thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Darkspear
    #6
    Okay, I have done that now, it did many changes in the libray but no luck... It doesnt make any seanse... And ideas
     
  7. MacEffects thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Darkspear
    #7
    Yeah, that was the first thing I did, but even in the edit menu nothing works :( and I really need them. Please let me know if you think of anything else.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Create a new account from your System Preferences (Accounts section) and see if the problem happens there too. If it does, then there's not much advice I can offer short of a reinstall of the OS (hopefully overkill) but if Clipboard works in the new account then we can try deleting some other preference and cache files. :)
     
  9. Jon'sLightBulbs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
  10. MacEffects thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Darkspear
    #10
    Okay, it works in this (a new account) so I'd assume some folder or file from the other is missing but for now I will be able to do what I need.

    Thanks Again!
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Well, try deleting the Finder preferences to start with. Look for a file called com.apple.finder.plist and delete it. :)
     
  12. carlwarnick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    #12
    I am having the same problem

    I am having the same problem and deleting the finder preferences didn't help. Any other preferences to delete?

    Thanks so much!!
     
  13. stephanecarrot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    #13
    I have been having this problem as well...

    My clipboard is hit or miss. It works for a while then maybe 1 day will not work in MS Office then 1 day not in Adium then one day all together. So frustrated can't even begin to vent.

    I have repaired permissions, removed cache files and removed pref's. At a loss. I really don't want to reinstall the OS.

    Anybody ever find a fix?
    OSX 10.4.3
    Build 8F46

    :confused:
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    First off, you need to determine if the problem is non-existant when logged in as another user. If the problem plagues you there, then the problem is system-wide and is a lot harder to troubleshoot. If the problem doesn't exist there, then there's a much better chance that a solution can be found.
     

Share This Page