Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

doxavita

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 6, 2010
I would like to make my own home server one day. I'm a total newbie regarding servers. Is Mac OS X server the way to go? Do I really need it?
What knowledge must I possess?

Is OS X Server the same as the client version in terms of being able to install programs? What changes? Can I get a server functioning in the client version too? Is the server version worth those extra $500?

So like I said, eventually I would like to make my own server (at home), so, do I need a Mac Pro for that?

Your guidance will be much appreciated, thx!

MacForScience

macrumors 6502
Sep 7, 2010
USA
I would like to make my own home server one day. I'm a total newbie regarding servers. Is Mac OS X server the way to go? Do I really need it?

Is OS X Server the same as the client version in terms of being able to install programs? What changes? Can I get a server functioning in the client version too? Is the server version worth those extra $500?

So like I said, eventually I would like to make my own server (at home), so, do I need a Mac Pro for that?

Slow-down there, what do you want to use it for?

Streaming video?

Streaming music?

Cause its cool?

Sharing Files with another computer (one)?

Answer yes to any of the above and the answer is you don't need OS X server. Best bet either way is wait for Lion to come out.

Cheers

Thessman

macrumors regular
Dec 8, 2005
GR

If you don't know if you need a server then you don't.

BornAgainMac

macrumors 604
Feb 4, 2004
Florida Resident
The Server functionality will be "free" with Lion. Just wait for it. By this summer, even Grandma will have Mac OS X Server running on her 11 inch Macbook Air.

doxavita

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 6, 2010
Slow-down there, what do you want to use it for?

Streaming video?

Streaming music?

Cause its cool?