MAC OS X Tiger 32bit or 64bit

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Croatian, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. Croatian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Is Tiger 32bit or 64bit, how do u tell if u have are C2D chip in your Mac, witch verion did apple install on the computer?
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    tiger is 32 bit, there is no 64bit version of tiger
    Leopard will be both 32 and 64bit, which I dont know exactly waht that means.
     
  3. macintouch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    It basically means that computers that are 64 bit such as the Mac Pro, and Core 2 Duo (I think they're 64 bit) will begin to be able to take advantage of the 64 bit feature that's basically just sitting there right now.
     
  4. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #4
    Um yeah..

    Tiger supports 64-Bit.

    Look at your system log.
    Code:
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: hi mem tramps at 0xffe00000
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: PAE enabled
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: 64 bit mode enabled
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: standard timeslicing quantum is 10000 us
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: vm_page_bootstrap: 1490173 free pages
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: mig_table_max_displ = 71
    Nov 26 12:53:15 localhost kernel[0]: Enabling XMM register save/restore and SSE/SSE2 opcodes
    
    The 3rd line says it all. 64-Bit mode allows the system to use full 64-Bit memory addressing, as well as use the CPU's 64-Bit registers. Tiger supports 64-Bit processors, and the underlying OS is 64-Bit capable. The GUI is not currently 64-Bit. There is a lot more to it than just this, but the short answer is yes.

    I know there are going to be a bunch of responses to this telling me that I don't know what I'm talking about... So here is a link to Apple's 10.4 64-Bit Development info.
    http://developer.apple.com/documentation/Darwin/Conceptual/64bitPorting/index.html
     
  5. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #5
    From Intel:

    Code:
    Intel® 64 architecture (formerly known as Intel® Extended Memory 64
    Technology, or Intel® EM64T) enables 64-bit computing on server, workstation,
    desktop and mobile platforms when combined with supporting software.¹ Intel 64
    architecture improves performance by allowing systems to address more than
    4 gigabytes (GB) of both virtual and physical memory. Today, all Intel processors
    for server and workstation platforms support 64-bit computing. And with the
    introduction of Intel® Core™2 Duo processors in the second half of 2006, most
    Intel desktop and mobile processors are also 64-bit capable.
    
    Intel 64 provides support for:
        * 64-bit flat virtual address space
        * 64-bit pointers
        * 64-bit wide general purpose registers
        * 64-bit integer support
        * Up to one terabyte (TB) of platform address space
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    oh, that doc looks creepy
    lol
     
  7. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #7
    I'm not sure of the point of your response.

    The OP asked if Tiger was 64-Bit. The answer is yes, Tiger is 64-Bit when run on a G5, Intel Core 2 Duo or Intel Xeon processor.
     
  8. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    i never thought it was fully 64-bit with the exception of the gui, but i believe you guys are right.
     

Share This Page