Mac OS X Tiger Install DVD Help

Discussion in 'OS X' started by bonesboom, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #1
    Hey, I just bought an iMac G5 off ebay and today I tried to use the Tiger install dvd because the previous owner had deleted software like textedit, etc.

    Anyway, I put the disc in and clicked on Install Mac OS X, then clicking restart.

    Now here's the problem, once the iMac shuts down and begins to restart, as it is on the grey screen you can hear the disc being read, then as the background goes a different shade of grey and the Apple logo appears, a minute or so passes and then the iMac begins making a lot of noise. I went away for 10 minutes, came back and it was still doing the same thing.

    So I'm basically looking for help because I really want to erase and reinstall everything, so help. tips, experience in this would be very much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #2
    could the dvd be corrupted?

    if not, then the cd drive could be damaged. Have u tried using it for eg. watching a dvd movie?

    what kind of sounds? does it sound like when ur hard drive is in heavy usage or is it the cd drive?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #3
    i dont think its the drive
    i installed a game from a disc fine
    the sounds are the actual hard drive
    its like really loud like when its being used heavy
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Sounds like the DVD.

    Do you have another computer to try firewire boot?

    Is your tiger DVD black or gray in color? Did it came with the iMac?

    Wow, deleted text edit. What a smart previous owner.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #5
    as i thought. unfortunatelly, i cant understand why it would do that. if its really trying to boot from the dvd drive and not from the hdd, why would the hdd be used at all? What i would do:

    Open disk utility and check the consistancy of your hdd. S.M.A.R.T status, filesystem, everything, even repair permissions.

    When rebooting, try holding down "c" key. This is for manually choosing to boot from dvd. Ive heard that some times a corrupted system could not boot from the chosen drive before rebooting.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #6
    the disc is black and came with it as far as i know
    i tried the c holding down but nothing changed
    i just read holding alt helped some
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    Make a copy of the install DVD and try to boot from the copy. I'm guessing your install DVD is buggered.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #8
    if i made a copy
    how would that work
    if the original doesnt
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #9
    the black disk didnt came with the iMac. Its the retail version, but that means nothing, the retail version SHOULD work just fine. And yeah, it could help if you actually made it to copy it to another DVD. Worths a try. Also, you should contact the guy that sold that to you and ask him why the install dvd doesnt work

    EDIT: It might be that ur EFI is corrupted? Someone that knows better on that could help
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #10
    already emailed her
    whats the efi
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #11
    mhm its hard to explain. The EFI is the software that OSX runs on. Like, before booting osx, or without even having osx installed, theres still some software that would let you choose from which drive to boot etc. Think it like BIOS in windows, if youve been a windows user anytime
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #12
    mk i kinda understand
    i think
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #13
    So I bought an Imac G5 off eBay the other day, and apparently they lost the Install discs that came with it, and thus bought a 2nd hand retail Tiger Install Disc package to sell with the iMac. It's the black box one, but as I've mentioned previously, when being prompted to restart, I mean after said restart, it just stays on the grey screen with the Apple logo and the machine begins to make very loud sounds, this lasts up to 10 minutes before I decide to turn it off.

    So I'm thinking maybe my disc is corrupt or broken, or it's the wrong install disc version for my Mac. Here are the specifications.

    iMac G5 17" screen with iSight
    PowerMac12,1
    PowerPC G5 (3.1)
    1.9GHz
    512MB

    Does anyone know which Tiger Install disc version comes with or is needed for this version iMac? Or alternatively, if I purchased Leopard, would that work on my iMac?

    Thanks.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #14
    Based on apple-history.com, your model was introduced October 2005, after the first release of Tiger in April. If your Tiger disk is 10.4.0, it probably can't boot that Mac (or you have a hardware/disc problem). You would need a later version of Tiger retail (10.4.3 or 10.4.6), or use Leopard retail.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #15
    it would, but i wouldnt reccomend running leopard with only 512mb of ram.

    UPDATE: oh no wait, isnt Leopard intel only?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Nope, Leopard Retail version is universal, I believe.
     
  17. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #17
    I run Leopard on an iBook G4 with 512 ram and it runs fine, although I don't put that much stress on it. I use it for the web, quicken backup, writing letters when travel.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #18
    For Leopard -

    General requirements

    Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor


    512MB of memory
    DVD drive for installation
    9GB of available disk space
    Some features require a compatible Internet service provider; fees may apply.
    Some features require Apple's .Mac service; fees apply.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #19
    I think I'm going to go ahead and purchase a retail copy of Leopard. Thanks for the help guys.
     

Share This Page