Mac OSX Going Random!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BlueDingo, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. BlueDingo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #1
    I just recently bought a new HD and reinstalled tiger,


    now when im running tiger, finder is repeatatly crashing and trying to restart, like every 2 seconds! i try to browse something, don't work.


    so ok, i thought it was a issue update can fix, so i went into software updater, it finds the "Mac OSX Update Combined (powerPC)"


    it downloads it but it can't install it because it "Couldent Expand The Package Correctly"

    its now the 5th time ive tried dowloading this, and its 150mb!


    so, i donwloaded the .dmg update of the apple website and i try to run it and it then says 'device not configued'!


    this is so buggy as im wrighting this. this neeever happened the 1st time i installed osx!


    PLEASE TELL ME, WHAT DO I DO?!?!?!?:mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  2. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #2
    First, for anyone to help you, it'd be a good idea to provide the following information:

    • What model of machine do you have?
    • What brand of hard drive did you buy, and how large is it?
    • Have you tried all the basics including:
      • Repairing permissions
      • Verifying/Repairing disk integrity
      • Running maintenance scripts
      • Running Hardware Test CD
    Let's also be clear, the file you manually downloaded was this, correct? While I *rarely* personally advocate this, if your Tiger install is rather fresh, it may be easiest to try reinstalling again. It may just be a bad install.
     
  3. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #3
    I'd suggest another install and if that doesn't bring back then return the HD as faulty.
     
  4. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #4
    its a PowerPc 400mhz Sawtooth Agp
    i bought a western digital 80gb

    how do i do those basic things?

    i think i also read while installing osx that this HD can't have its permissions repaired.
     
  5. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #5
    Go to /Applications/Utilities and open Disk Utility.app (you can also spotlight for it). Repairing permissions is outlined here.

    After this completes, click the "Verify Disk" button. If it reports any problems, reboot off your installation media. To do this, put the DVD in the drive and then hold down C as you're starting up. Open Disk Utility from the "Tools" menu (I think that's the menu, it's been awhile), and then select your system partition. Click "Repair Disk."

    The Apple Hardware Test CD is a CD that should have come with your computer; it may look something similar to this. To use it, restart your machine with the CD in your drive and hold down C. Just like you would do to boot off your installation media.

    As for the .dmg you downloaded, you should be able to mount it manually from Disk Utility as well. From Disk Utility, go to File -> Open and then browse to the file and click open.
     
  6. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #6


    in mac osx i veryfied it and it came up with thos:

    Determining correct file permissions.
    Permissions differ on ./Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Frameworks/InternetUtilities.bundle/Contents/MacOS/InternetUtilities, should be -rw-rw-r-- , they are -rwxrwxr-x
    Permissions differ on ./usr/bin/setregion, should be -r-sr-xr-x , they are -r-xr-xr-x"

    i tried repairing it but it kept on crashing, so ill try it with the installation cd, and btw, i didn't get that Hardware Test CD
     
  7. 748s macrumors 6502a

    748s

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Location:
    Tiger Bay
    #7
    Don't worry about the hardware test cd.
    Hardware Test is not supported in the 400mhz 'sawtooth'.

    All i can suggest is re-format the drive to Mac OS Extended (journaled) and re-install OS-X and run software updater before installing anything else.
    goodluck.

    Is the Tiger disc a generic retail disc or a version supplied for a specific computer?
     
  8. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #8
    ok, doing that now :)
     
  9. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #9
    i reinstalled and wouldent ya know it, it got corrupt again :rolleyes: :mad:


    so im going reinstall it again:mad:
     
  10. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #10
    If it doesn't work this time, I'd suggest taking the hard drive back. Not even Windows is this bad on a fresh install.
     
  11. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #11
    all right, ill wipe it , take it back and buy a baracuda
     
  12. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #12
    ok, i bought a baracuda.


    should i just try installing tiger again?

    any settings that should be changed?
     
  13. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #13
    You should be able to install like normal.
     
  14. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #14
    nope, didn't work, i followed this setup:

    # Install the hard drive (for IDE drives, normally set drive to master).
    # Check connectivity and turn on machine as normal.
    # Open and insert your Mac OS X Bootable CD.
    # Allow machine to boot.
    # In OSX 10.4 go to the Utilities menu and choose Disk Utility
    # In 10.3 and earlier go to the File Menu and select "Open disk utility".
    # You will see a window appear with the hard drive on the left.
    # Select the new drive (should be only one).
    # Double check this drive does not contain any of your important data.
    # In the right hand window you will see and option for "Erase" click this button
    # You can partition your drive from within Disk Utility also.
    # Once the drive has formatted, restart machine (this step is important).
    # Once machine has re-started go through the normal install procedure.


    i try this, i might only have the upgrade dvd, so ill reinstall OS 9 and try upgrading
     

Share This Page