mac osx server...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dabomb, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. dabomb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #1
    What does Mac osx server do exactly? If i install mac osx server on my mac. whould i have mac osx as new os system?

    Now i have mac os 9,2,2...would it be changed as mac osx? if i install mac osx server???
     
  2. awulf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Australia
    #2
    The base of Mac OS X server is like the Client. You probably wont need server, because the Server is used to manage other computers on the network, act like a mail server, web server, ftp server...

    You want the Client.

    Go here for more info:
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/server/
     
  3. dabomb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #3
    thats ok...cuz we bought software and hardware from a compagnie that went out of business...and we have a copy of Mac osx server...

    we had it and we didnt know if it could be use as a regular os for a Mac that we have that dosent have any operating system in it...

    and if I install osx server on that computer...would it be the like osx client?...

    I means the same interface...and all...

    thanks

    pat
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Yep. Looks very much the same, and can do everything the client can.... and even more.
    But the i-Apps are not installed on it by default. But ofcourse you can install them, as they will work exaclty the same as on the client.
    If you do install it (which OS X Server??? 10.0, 10.1, 10.2 or even 10.3?), please explore this fantastic product! Especially if it is Jaguar Server or later.....

    Mind you, you will need a serial numer to install it though. Hope you got the original CD cover with the sticker.

    Have fun! :)
     
  5. dabomb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #5
    yup i have every thing...and my version is...1.0...thats what is written on the cd...dont know if it means that its 10.0 ???

    but they should be updates for it...it could be like 2 years old...
     
  6. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    whoa.....

    Stop.

    Mac OS X Server version 1.0? <cool>

    eh... but this version is NOT like the Aqua- OS X we love to use now, I'm afraid.
    It's more the Rhapsody OS of some years ago (very nice historical meaning though).
    You can only update it to version 1.2... BUT NOT 10.X!!!

    So sorry... nope. You cannot use it like the clients. Thats very unlucky.
    This version of OS X was very different. No "carbon", and the "yellox box" aka "cocoa" was very differently interpreted. There is classic though, running Mac OS 8.6 (later 9 ???) So no apps you can buy today will run on that OS. Omniweb version 3 does though (nice to know, ha ha).

    Still its very nice to own!
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Does the box look like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. CMillerERAU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
    #8
    Wow, what a blast from the past. Seems like Apple made a big oopsie naming that Mac OS Server X, since its hardly the Mac OS X we know and love. Sure, its basic underpinnings are the same but wow, that's about it. I'd love to play around with it but I wouldn't use it for anything but server stuff, even then it might be worth upgrading to the real deal.
     
  9. dabomb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #9
    damn!...


    ok...any way i need it to put on one of or macs that dosent have any os on it!

    cuz the guy that owned the compagnie that we bought the stuff from...that bastard took every cd in the boxes of software! before selling them to us!...

    we bought all this a a GROUP of materiel...so we didnt have a complete listing...and my boss got ripped off many software...we only had osx server and other stuff...dreamweaver, office...if you guys what empty boxes of illustrator 9, photoshop 6 and quark 4.11 we have plany of that!!!!
     
  10. dabomb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #10
    thats the box alright!
     
  11. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Then it's the Rhapsody OS X Server.....

    Very cool to have... but not very functional now.
     
  12. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12

    You mean he "sold" you empty boxes ?!?
    That's not very cheap software you are talking about!

    That stinks man!
     
  13. dabomb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #13
    yup! empty!...the owner of the compagnie that we bought the stuff from died and he ho alote of money!...

    so they action the office supplies...software/hardware...at a really cheap price!

    but I guess that the mices came and took every cds in the boxes...
    we cant do nothing cuz it was a "as seen" sale at a auction...but it was really cheap...dont know how much...but its in the 4 digit number and we have 5 G3...3 G4...a drum scan...and empty software boxes!
     

Share This Page