Mac/PC gaming death coming to a future near us?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Haoshiro, Mar 2, 2006.

1. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

Haoshiro

Recent rumblings regarding publishers/developers (like John Carmack, id Software) switching to consoles (360/PS3) as the primary development platform leave me wondering... could "computer gaming" (PC or Mac) as we know it come to an end?

Even Aspyr is getting lured to Xbox.

I've been casually thinking the idea over and thought I'd share my observations/thoughts and see what everyone else thought.

First, the Hardware:

PCs/Macs have the edge over consoles in that upgrades happen at least yearly many of which directly effect games. Faster processors, video cards, the pending release of physics cards.

That hardcore computer gamers help these hardware companies make money off these upgrades.

But is this always a good thing in the eyes of publisher and developers or more of a headache?

As a developer myself (not games, atm) I feel its a double-edged sword. I definitely like the advancements being made and more power can definitely equal more possibilities. On that same end it also makes development a bit shaky in that your platform is changing. Take the MacOS 9 developer that gets blindsided by Intel OS X that doesn't even support Classic.

Game developers have the most to worry about. You can't directly take advantage of every new feature of the latest hardware without shutting out the majority of users who DONT have the latest hardware. You have to take a shot in the dark, guess where the majority will be in the 2 or 3 years it will take you to finish. Then hope you don't get left in the dust by things moving faster then you thought so you now have a game that looks "so last year." At the same time, again, you want to make sure people now can enjoy your game.