Mac Portable M5126 backlit

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by WardC, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #1
    This is one I took on January 24th...this is one of my gems of my Mac collection, a fully working backlit Mac Portable M5126.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    Very cool! Looks to be in great shape too. Of course IMO, you should be running System 6 on that bad boy. ;)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #3
    But, then I couldn't do all the cool stuff with the Map control panel and the scrapbook. System 6 is pretty boring, although it is historic. 7.0.1 runs well on this Portable, I have 4MB of RAM in it.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
  5. macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
  6. macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    Oh I know. I'm just a luddite, and refuse to run 7.x on anything capable of running 6 or earlier. ;)
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #7
    I don't think it's stupid, I see where you are coming from...keep the machine true to its vintage default and don't overlog it with bulky later-released OS software that will lag the processor and sacrifice performance, stability, and compatibility. It's kinda like how I hate using OS X on my Pismo PowerBook, and would rather use all my apps in OS 9. Both will run fine, but I think those Macs are really built and equipped for Classic, and the Aluminum-book series and later are built for OS X.

    System 6 is fast, speedy, and runs on very little RAM. It's also quite stable. I think the System 7 Finder makes it easier to get around, open, save, move, rename, and such....but you are hogging more RAM and sacrificing a bit of speed when you use an old 68000. But yes, I totally understand why you'd want to run the default and keep it there.
     

Share This Page