Mac Pro 3,1 + Radeon 5770 = TF2 Performance Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ZennZero, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. ZennZero, Jan 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2011

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    So I just replaced the 8800GT in my 3,1 MP with a 5770. For some reason -- regardless of the graphics settings I choose -- I get a weird little graphical "hitch" in Team Fortress 2 (edit: and Half life 2) every couple of minutes. It almost looks like a severe lag spike, but I don't have the issue when using the 8800GT.

    Any suggestions? The only "exotic" thing in my system is a Blackmagic Intensity card, but as it is sitting there idle I wouldn't think it is interfering (and again, it was never a problem with the 8800GT)...
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #2
    I just did the same upgrade. I do not own Team Fortress 2 so I can comment on that problem. But I have not had any issues at all.
    The only game I play is X plane and FSX in windows. I an getting 3x the frame rates in Xplane over the 8800GT plus some higher settings.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Well, it might be a Source engine thing -- I confirmed it happens in Half Life 2 as well, so that pretty much rules out the network as a possibility.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    No issues like that here. Radeon 5870.

    Running at least 10.6.5?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Yup. Same problem under 10.6.5 and 10.6.6.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Location:
    UK/Germany
    #6
    Seems to be something wrong on your side, my 5770 and 5870s work just fine with source games on the 1,1 MP.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I am actually a little closer to figuring this thing out. . . With the historical view of the CPU meter in Activity Monitor open, I see that these little hiccups correspond with small spikes of some system-level process (i.e. "red" colored CPU utilization).

    Unfortunately, I am not fast enough to switch over the to process viewer and see what is causing the spike. Does anyone know of a means of logging the contents of the process list? Or some other means of seeing (either in real-time or historical) process activity while in-game?
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    This won't directly get you what you want, but check your Console and see if there is an event that corresponds with the spikes.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Good thought, but nothing that seems to correspond.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #10
    It sounds like the kind of problem I have when I over clock a video card. It get artifacts from the extra heat. In your case it could indicate a bad card.

    You might want to get an exchange while you are in the return window.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #11
    I am pretty familiar with overheating artifacts, and this really doesn't match the typical symptoms...

    I did have an idea however: I bet I could use Top and log the command prompt output. I am going to have to try that over the next few days.

    In the meantime, 100 Internets to anyone with a potential solution.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #12
    Get another (identical) card and test it. You will save yourelf hours of effort and what-ifs.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #13
    Log into the MP using ssh via the laptop (any other machine really, OS X, Windows or Linux) and fire up 'top', watch 'top' as slowdowns happen?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Sadly, I am fresh out of Radeon 5770s.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Good call, that is easier than trying to do it all locally. Thanks!
     

Share This Page