Mac Pro + 8800GT + Secondary card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by island, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    island

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #1
    I have the new Mac Pro with 8800GT video for the primary card. Which is my best bet for a secondary card to run an extra monitor for basic parallels and web work?

    ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT or GeForce 7300 GT options? If the ATI is a good idea, can it mix with a Nvidia card?
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #2
    Get the HD 2600 XT as a secondary card. It's a much better performer for the price when compared to the 7300 GT.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Location:
    Wisconson
    #3
    Can't the 8800 drive 2 monitors?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    Two 30 inchers :p
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    I may be getting a 8 core with the 8800 soon. Has it been confirmed you can use the 8800GT and the HD2600 xt? I would be using 3+ monitors
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #6
    you can use both at the same time, what we dont know is if it will bring any problems (like when you played games with the 7300 and 1900x the third monitor didnt appeared, got solve by apple with an update though:)
    Keep us posted pls, I will have the same setup, and sure the 2600 is the way to go.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #7
    The 7300 GT is a non-starter. It will not work in the 2008 MPs.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    If you have the money (and aren't using the other power cable), you can even get another 8800 GT and run two at once.

    MikeL, unless you've tried it, there are confirmed reports of the 7300 working in the new Mac Pro...
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #9
    I wouldn't say it if I hadn't tried it. Unlike many here, I relate experience rather than conjecture.

    The card is recognized only as a VGA video card, and outputs no video. This is with an 8800 GT in the first slot.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Huh. Weird. Oh! Maybe the one I'm thinking of only had the 7300 in. That might be different... Well, that sucks for people who want a cheap third-monitor card for their Mac Pro...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    island

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #11
    Yeah I would love to hear from anyone that has tried to make sure nothing goes wrong.

    Don't want a fight club inside my tower! :p
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #12
    Lol, one day you open the case and the GT has a knife on it and the 6 ping molex power connector on the 2600XT is slit :p
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #13
    Even if you have he money, it wont be wise to buy another 8800, it wont help in performance, you cant do sli, so the only thing it helps with is to add 2 more monitors, thats why the 2600 is the best choice.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #14
    If you fitted a second 8800GT then would that give you SLI capability in Windows via Boot Camp?
     
  15. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    Can't do it... in OS X. And if the performance was the same on the 2600, there wouldn't have been a month's wait for the 8800 GT. What if, say, I/he want/s to game in 3840x1200? Then one monitor per 8800 GT gives you psuedoSLI performance over two screens.

    Half-Life 2: Episode 3, everything maxed, 8xAA 16xOtherThing, 3840x1200.

    Thing of beauty.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    #16
    I bought my MP with the 2600XT to get earlier delivery, and have recently flashed a PC 8800GT. Both cards work fine together in both OSX and bootcamp with XP SP2. 8800GT is in the bottom slot and 2600XT is in slot 2.

    I have only two monitors connected - one on each card.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #17
    Thanks! good to know
     
  18. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    That's just what I want to do, but with two 8800 GT. Would you say that it'd be possible to have an Apple one and a flashed one coexisting in the same Mac Pro?
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #19
    Say you have both of those cards (2600XT and 8800GT) in the MacPro, would Motion 3 detect which graphics card is faster to render or do you have to set it up to recognize a certain card? Or are we just taking 256 and adding it to the 512 making it a 768 graphics card? Anyone?
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #20
    Say you have both of those cards (2600XT and 8800GT) in the MacPro, would Motion 3 detect which graphics card is faster to render or do you have to set it up to recognize a certain card? Or are we just taking 256 and adding it to the 512 making it a 768 graphics card? And I suppose when you load a game you can tell which card for it to use?
     

Share This Page