Mac Pro arrived (UK)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Crouching Hippo, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. Crouching Hippo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    My mac pro arrived last week (17th), I ordered it off apple.com/uk a few hours after they were released following WWDC.

    Configured as Dual 3ghz with BT, rest stock config. :)

    I was lucky (hopefully!) to get my 2GB of extra RAM from crucial just before they pulled it from their site. I did not even boot the mac with the stock 1GB, I just added in the extra 2GB then booted for the first time, totally perfect, no problems at all. I can't hear the machine make any noise at all, even when I push it, very impressive compared to my old G5 2.5, which constantly made a lot of noise in the same environment.

    Future plans include adding more HD space and ordering a better gfx card when the ATi cards have quick ship times.

    Any requests for specific benchmarks and/or pictures, I will try to supply them! :cool:

    My previous machine was a Dual 2.5 G5 with 2GB of RAM and the mac pro just feels and responds so so much quicker in anything I have thrown at it so far. 100% worth the price tag.

    -- Hippo
     
  2. ampd macrumors regular

    ampd

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #2
    I wouldnt trust that ram but thats me... If i was planning on using it I would make sure to have large heatsinks on em' as the reason crucial pulled them was thermal aspects were not to apples spec.
     
  3. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #3
    ram heat etc

    Hi, the apple docs and a few posts I have read point towards that the computer would just shut down if the ram really caused a big heat problem.

    I don't think its a big enough risk to take the performance hit for the extra few weeks, I got work to do :) I do understand people waiting it out though.

    I will report back if I notice any problems, I have had the mac pro working flat out pretty much solid since I got it and its been flawless so far, its in a room with air-con (for the record).
     
  4. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #5
    pics

    I am at home at the moment using my powerbook, the mac pro is at my office, I will take pics tommorow if you want anything specific, people seem to have already posted most of the standard pics so suggestions are welcome for specific pics. :cool:
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Just out of interest, how much was the memory on Crucial? By the time I logged in to have a look it was gone. I know its expensive but I just want to know *how* expensive. Damn, I soooo want a Mac Pro right now!
     
  6. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #7
    ram price

    Hi, *checks emails*.... £185.99 (ex vat) for 2 x 1GB sticks. Apples upgrade to 2GB is like £199, so I ended up with 3GB of ram for less than it would have cost to goto 2GB with apple.
     
  7. simonthewolf macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    #8
    Chrouchy, can you reassure me on one aspect of the Mac Pro? It doesn't have the Power Mac G5 Power Supply 'chirp' does it?

    Another vote for pics! :eek:
     
  8. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #9
    chirp

    No chirp from mine, it really does make hardly any noise at all, even the superdrive on mine makes hardly any sound at all !

    Any specific pictures, I have a broken wrist so moving the beast to take photos is not easy!
     
  9. Marioz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Rivarolo C.se, Italy
    #10
    Where the RAM......

    Hi, thnks a lot for yours info ab the matter of RAM. To stay sure I preferred to order my two additional 1Gb from OWC. But my question is:
    where did u put the two "sticks"? I mean in which position referring the original position of the two original?

    Thnks a lot
     
  10. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #11
    ram position

    I read an article / doc which showed where to put them (cant find link at the moment :mad: ), basically the 3rd and 4th DIMM you add to the system go in the 1st and 2nd slots on the SECOND riser card, so you end up with the first and second (top) slots filled on each riser card.
     
  11. glassbathroom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Good to hear that they are arriving in the UK. How long did it take to arrive after you had the shipping notice? When I bought my Powermac it took 7 days to reach me in London. 6 days to fly from Cork to Holland and 1 day to get from Holland to London! Mad :eek:
     
  12. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #13
    shipping

    Hi, it got shipped on the 15th, one day later than originally estimated. I got it on the 17th via TNT direct from cork. I was impressed!
     
  13. glassbathroom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #14
    That's great news. I hate the waiting!!!
     
  14. Marioz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Rivarolo C.se, Italy
    #15

    Thnks, that will be usefull in the moment the baby'll arrive :)
     
  15. Clydefrog macrumors 6502a

    Clydefrog

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh,PA
    #16
    do you have any unpacking pics? or of inside the case?
     
  16. Crouching Hippo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #17
    pics

    I am going to get someone to give me a hand get it back out from under my desk later to take some photos, can do a few of the box if you like.
     
  17. machappymeal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
  18. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #19
    :eek:

    Just how heavy is this thing???

    Not sure I want one if it is going to break bones...
     
  19. machappymeal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
  20. petite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #21
    For those of you who want to see new unboxing pictures you can look at my photos at this location. It's near the bottom. Hard to miss it.

    I originally started a new thread with these pics (on this part of the forums ) but it was moved - and I have no idea why, to the 'Post Your Mac Setup' thread. And these are clearly not picture of my setup... Just the unboxing :confused:

    But check it out if you want to see pics.
     
  21. Mr. Mister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #22
    Same as G5 pretty much.
     
  22. BBC B 32k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #23
    Well Done

    Torn myself between low end Mac Pro and high end iMac. Waiting to see what is released next week.

    Would love 23" screen and hoping 23" iMac is to be announced. Else two 20"ers would do. I suppose the iMac can do dual displays?

    But the Mac Pros will last much longer as they can be updated.

    argghhhhh....
     

Share This Page