Mac Pro Cooling

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dpaanlka, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    So what's the story of the mac pro cooling system as I don't see any mention of it anywhere?
     
  2. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  3. Macmadant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #3
    i think it uses fans as water cooling is expensive, and it started leaking in the old g5 powermacs
     
  4. thegreatluke macrumors 6502a

    thegreatluke

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Both fans and/or water could be possible, but remember that the G5's (especially the Quad model) produce a LOT of heat.

    The Xeons produce less heat than the G5's they replace. How much less I don't know though.
     
  5. dpaanlka thread starter macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    I still think they're a pretty good amount, especially compared to say a Core 2 Duo.
     
  6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    Based on the way they've been able to pack so much more processing power into the Xserves than they could with the G5s, I wouldn't be surprised if the Mac Pros are only air-cooled.
     
  7. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #7
    There are no water pumps. There are mighty heat sinks with heat tubes inside, but no radiator.

    This page (also linked from the MR front page) shows a disassembly.
     
  8. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #8
    Well, each Xeon has an identical TDP to the comparable Conroe Core 2 Duo chip- there will be 2 of them naturally but heat is no biggie.

    The first reports coming in say its quiet...vewwwy vewwy quiet... this is with the 2.66, stock video card and RAM.
     
  9. thegreatluke macrumors 6502a

    thegreatluke

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    Pardon the misunderstanding - I meant "less heat" than the G5's it replaced.

    (Original post edited)
     
  10. DMPDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #10
    They are air cooled only, no liquid. Amazing as a video lab I frequent, filled with G5 duallies, feels like a sauna. The xeon's must be EXTREMELY cool.
     
  11. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #11
    I'll bet it is fan cooled, becuase it should the air flow diagram, and it only makes sense. And they said that it didn't produce as much heat and all that.
     
  12. evangelion-01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #12
    Thanks for the link man, that thing looks gorgeous! i must get one!
     
  13. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #13
    I only see 4 fans in the Mac Pro; the power supply fan, 2 front fans, and the fan on the memory cage.
     
  14. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #14
    Remember that not all G5s were water cooled, just the high end ones. Based on the pics and the fact that it's not noted anywhere, I'd say no. You could just ask someone who already has one in one of the already open threads. ;)
     
  15. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #15

    Please, let's keep a sense of proportion.

    Not in the 3 we have at work and despite the occasional poster – only one if my memory serves me well – here saying (no pics were posted) that they'd had a problem, there have been no mass reports, recalls or class suit actions. ;)
     
  16. DMPDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #16
    Regardless, the new macpro is not water cooled. I am right under 100% sure. I would be willing to put some mad weight behind this. air cooled all the way.
    -dsm
     
  17. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #17
    You could downgrade, too...

    So the 3 GHz Xeon has a TDP of 80W (Thermal Design Power, the theoretical maximum amount of heat it will generate,) the rest of the 'normal' line 65W, and there's one 2.33 GHz 'low-power' model that is only 40W. (This is in addition to the 'normal' 65W 2.33 GHz chip; so the low-power one will almost certainly cost more, a quick search shows the 'normal' one for $515 with the low power one $585 at the same retailer, the same store lists the 2.0 GHz chip for $365.)

    Since the processors are socketed (see the link from PowerMax on the main page story with links,) you should be able to replace the processors. If you select the lowest-end 2.0 GHz Mac Pro, and swap in these cooler-running 2.33 GHz chips, you should have a faster, much cooler/quieter system. If you take Apple's downgrade credit of $300, and manage to sell your two chips for, say, $200 each, the 'upgrade' would 'only' cost you $470. (Although you'd still be 14% slower than the 'stock' 2.66 GHz system you're 'upgrading' from.)

    Man, that's a lot of 'quoted' statements...
     
  18. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #18
    From this image, it doesn't look like there is liquid cooling to me.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. shompa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #19

    xeons produce the same amount of heat, but Intel have better technology in its manufactoring.

    0.65 micron and great heatspreaders on the processors.

    IBM did not have any heatpreaders on their processors.
    That means less area to take away the heat = more noise from fans.

    Jobs and Apple are trying to brainwash all how bad the G5 was suddenly.

    The PPC highend systems are at least in the same class as Woodcreast. That is not the reason on the switch to Intel.
    Apple does not care about making the fastest computer.
    They want to make money.

    People dont want the fastest computers.
    Why would X86 survived all those years they where slower?

    I mean.
    Ultra Sparc had many years where they where faster.
    Same thing with Power4, and later G5.

    Intel has great marketing.
    People look at strange numbers.

    One example:

    The G4 had a 133mhz bus.
    Intel had 800mhz.
    According to people, so did G4 suck beacuse off this.

    Why do we have these fast bussess now?
    Well. The true reason is that they dont want to have large L3 cache memory.

    A G4 at 133mhz bus with 2mb L3 cache could compete per clock with a PentiumM. But L3 cache is extremly expensive.
    By having fast busses, the can eliminate the L3 cache.

    It is all about making money for Intel/Apple.

    Nothing more.

    People are stupid. That explains Windows. (and so much more, like that we had the same party for 90 years here in Sweden)
     
  20. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #20
    There is the same die area under the heatspreader as the G5 had with a normal cooler (although the G5 die is smaller than the woodcrest die). A heatspreader actually compromises cooling which is why enthusiasts take it off. It's only there to protect the bare die. Get your facts straight!

    Back to the cooling of the Mac Pro, i just wonder what the air flow is like from the CPU's. There seems to be only 2 small slots for the air to flow through the memory cage.
    The ultra sparc was also a lot more expensive and less compatible than X86. X86 survived because it was cheaper and had the most industry support.

    The woodcrest has 4MB of L2 cache. What's your point?
     
  21. triotary macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #21

    This what I'm TRYING to tell people on two of my threads that I started:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=222398

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=222585

    But so many people are in self denial, as they are so bought into a very well orchestrated propaganda.

    But I must admit that MacPro does looks practically functional on design wise ^_^
     
  22. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    Propaganda? How about hard facts and truth? Complain all you want but new intel processors are some of the best you can buy these days performance wise. Plus if the Mac Pro is too expensive then get an iMac, if that's too slow then get a dell and stop moaning about Mac's.
     
  23. triotary macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
  24. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    Go where? Proving you wrong is it? It's oh so simple :)

    Oh and reading your other post it's clear you have not done any research. The processor the Mac Pro uses has nothing in common, other than it being made by intel, with the older P4 that the G5 used be benchmarked against. The woodcrest (core 2 duo) is a lot faster than the P4. Plus the P4 was only single core (HT doesn't really count) , whereas the G5 was dual processor and the woodcrest effectively has 4 processors. I don't know what planet you are from but generally 2 cores is better than 1 and 4 is better than 2 (assuming all cores individually are around the same speed and you use a multi-processor aware benchmark).
     
  25. triotary macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #25
    Do read carefully next time before you comment ya?
     

Share This Page