Mac Pro Die Again!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Neonguy, Sep 19, 2006.

  1. Neonguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #1
    I'm really pissed I just got my mac pro for nearly 3 weeks now and it die on me the 2nd times. One time it even RESTART by itself! It have a power problem where it doesn't turn on. First time it won't turn on so I reset the PMU then it start up, so no big deal. Then after 3 to 4 more days it does it again. This time reset the PMU doesn't do anything. So I reset the SYS RST, DIAG LIGHT, PMU, basicly every buttons I can find on on the circuit board, re-seated my Hard Drive but it still won't turn on. So I reset the SYS RST again, re-seated the Hard Drive, re-seated the Ram. Wait and wait and finally it turn on for no reason.

    Does this mean my Mac Pro have a Hardware problem? Should I be worry and take it in to the Mac Genius to get their greasy hand on my beutiful Mac Pro? As much as I love my Mac Pro but it make me very dissapointed that I spend almost 3 grand and received JUNK! I can't believe I'm the only one who have this problem!
     
  2. keaj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #2
    Sounds like its just a fluke thing and that happens with any company that manufactures equipment.
    Both times it has died has it been power related? Maybe its on your end and you need a surge protector or something?
    Just throwing out ideas.

    Jason
     
  3. Neonguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #3
    I have a Belkin Surge Protector. I'm also using an 23 Apple Display along with Motorolla, Linksys Modem, and Karmon Soundstick II. Maybe I should seperate the cord so they don't share everything?
     
  4. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #4
    So your Mac Pro and ACD are doing weird things?

    It sounds like you have a problem somewhere else. Are you using a surge protector? That would be the place to start.
     
  5. Neonguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #5
    Yes I'm using a Surge Protector it's a Belkin Surge Master. I don't know it's outdated or not but I have been using it for awhile. Also my 23 ACD sometime the screen flicker. I wonder why? I hope it just electrical stuff I have plug in. I really hope it's not the ACD or the Mac Pro itself. You know how it is if you give your beautiful stuff to the Apple Genius, they like to get their dirty greasy finger everywhere on your stuff.
     
  6. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #6
    Get a new surge protector immediately! Don't wait around to see if it stops. You could potentially damage something if you have already. Get a new one. Now if you can.
     
  7. Neonguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #7

    Does the Mac Pro offer a safety shut off? Like due to power failure or power spikes so it doesn't damaged any components inside? I was wondering this because the Mac Pro won't turn on twice already and I'm scared Hardware insid e is damage?

    Yeah I'm getting a new Surge Protector tomorrow. What is a good one I can get for my Mac Pro? Thinking I'm using only this Surge Protector exclusively for the Mac Pro and my 23 ACD only.
     
  8. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #8
    Just get a name brand one. Like Belkin or Surgemaster. Make sure it offers insurance if it fails and your hardware is fried.

    If I were you I would turn everything off immediately. The longer it is on, the more damage being done, if it is in fact a power problem. If the surge protector isnt the problem, get a new Mac Pro and ACD. If the problem persists you may want to get your outlets checked for problems. You could get the outlets checked before you get new stuff.

    I really dont think you got two bad pieces of hardware. It is possible, but highly unlikely IMO.
     
  9. Mackeyser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #9
    Yes, disconnect everything immediately. Even if off, a surge through an old surge protector could still damage the equipment.

    And, NO, neither the computer nor the monitor have any electronics to prevent spikes from damaging the equipment. Not in any way that would save it.

    Personally, I run all my computers from a UPS with line conditioning to ensure that my equipment is not suffering from under or over voltages as well as have too little or too much current. Either APC or Tripplite are fine and many UPSes can be had for the price of a fancy surge protector.

    The computer works on voltage differentials. Without clean power, all sorts of havoc ensues...
     
  10. Neonguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #10
    I test with Apple CD Hardware Diagnosis and TechTool and it show all PASS. Should I take I take in for them to look at to be sure? Or take it apart and smell it for burn? Strange my old SonyVaio I misstreat it like hell and and leave it on 24/7 and it still run perfectly. Well, I find a good way to get rid of it though. I use it for a pillow now.

    What am I doing still posting. I need to SHUT DOWN MY COMPUTER NOW!:eek:
     

Share This Page