Mac pro disables 1 CPU and half RAM slot

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lebowskiguy, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. lebowskiguy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #1
    Hello people, I have an 8 core mac pro 2009 with 16 gb ram, i have not used it for a while and today i've turned it on, mac recognizes only 1 cpu and 8 gb of ram, ive tried reistalling OS, Reset NVRAM. actually CPU and RAM which is unseen by mac are properly working, i took the parts and swaped, i can tell which works cause one cooler is cold and second goin hot so nothing helps please help :(
     
  2. MacVidCards
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    reset NVRAM to start, then start looking for burned stuff
     
  3. lebowskiguy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #3
    Thank u for reply

    ive reseted NVRAM , startup option comand p r . do u mean that?
    but still the same( can motherboard might just burned some connections for the bridge which supplies power for one half of a socket and PINs?
     
  4. masfet
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #4
    Normally, a Mac Pro will not even boot with a failed CPU. Thus, maybe you have a single CPU, 8Gb installed?
     
  5. lebowskiguy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #5
    No no its a 2 xeons, ive dispanded and swaped cpus to the sockets , i also swaped rams everything seems to work fine :(
     
  6. lebowskiguy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #6
    Ive sorted it out , CPU released some kind of a acid... thats what she said :D

    so i cleaned my CPU with Ethanol and it works !!!!
     
  7. beyond
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #7
    Dispanded and swaped???
     
  8. DanielCoffey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #8
    I hope you replaced any thermal compound if you removed it from the CPUs and heatsinks...
     
  9. lebowskiguy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #9
    of Course !!!! thank u
     

Share This Page