Mac pro Dual Quadro 4000s (mac), boot camp, and windows 7 x64.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by m3the01, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #1
    Can anyone give me any advice on how to get this running?


    I have boot camp running with windows 7 x64 pro and the ati 5770 , but as soon as i install the quadro's she wont boot past the boot selection screen.

    As soon as i hit 'enter' on boot windows, just freezes.

    Thanks for the help!!!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #2
    How are you providing the required extra power to the cards?
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    Quadro 4000s only require one power connector.

    So if the OP is running the one power connector to each, he's good.

    (They were specifically made to run in dual GPU configurations in the Mac Pro.)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #4
    Yes, two power connectors. Everything works perfect with the new quadro drivers for display and CUDA in OSX. However, i have some 12 bit grayscale openGL code that only actually display 12 bit in windows. I would luv to get this running again,

    The install went fine with boot camp and the ATi 5770. When i installed the two quadro cards i think the EFI dies during boot to windows. As i understand it the EFI module provides a bios like environment for windows when running bootcamp. As soon as i select windows for boot during startup, she just hands indefinitely.

    thank you for the help, it is greatly appreciated!!!

    cheers,
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    It really sounds like a Windows issue. As this is a Mac board, I'm not sure what to tell you...

    Can you boot from the Windows install disk?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
  8. macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Have you tried installing Windows fresh with both Quadros, so no trace of the 5770 or AMD drivers? There are loads of rare issues that crop up over graphical driver conflicts. Might even try XP too and see if that works.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #9
    Yes i have tried installing fresh, it will not get past the boot selections screen or OSX or Windows. As soon as i select windows, she hangs...
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #10
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #11
    Hi, I'm wondering if this issue was ever resolved? I'm having the exact same thing happen to me. I have a 2009 mac pro with two Quadro 4000s. I can only install/boot to windows with one card in the machine. As soon as I install the second card, it hangs at the boot selection screen.

    EDIT: This can't be a driver issue because the issue occurs just getting to the windows boot screen, before any drivers are loaded.
     

Share This Page