Mac Pro EFI Update Failing

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CyberPrey, Sep 19, 2006.

  1. CyberPrey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    IGH, MN
    #1
  2. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #2
    Are you RAID 0 for you boot drive?
    If so, you will need to boot from a normal single drive.
    The EFI update utility can not access the filesystem of a RAID 0 drive.
     
  3. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #3
    Seriously? So we have to keep a spare "just in case" SATA drive with OS X and plug it in for the purpose of EFI updates? That seems...silly. :confused:
     
  4. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #4
    it didnt workt the first time but i did it the second time and it worked fine

    just follow the diections that apple gives in the update
     
  5. Altimeter88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    #5
    Yeah, basically if you are running RAID be prepared to keep a spare drive on hand or go buy a new drive and install OSX on it to install firmware updates because we mac people like to "Think Different". :eek:

    Just another reason why Apple needs to enable the RAID 5 feature built into the motherboards southbridge, so that we don't have this problem in the future!

    You can read my rant about the RAID issue here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=231822,
     
  6. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    I don't see what the big deal is. Why don't you just boot from an external firewire drive and install the update from there? What, you don't have a Firewire drive?! You can afford a $3K++ machine, but not a cheap firewire drive? I have an old 80gig external that I use for backup. I sometimes boot from it when I want to run system checks. Another option is to buy a cheap OEM drive and keep it as backup only. Swapping it out should only take a minute or so. Again, what's the big deal? :cool:
     
  7. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #7
    In fact, if you closely read some technical notes about Mac OS X and booting ... you'll see that OFFICIALY, Apple DOES NOT support Mac OS X boot on RAID setup ... It's works like a charm, BUT, it's not supported. So we can not blame Apple for this situation ;)
     
  8. sejanus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #8
    hey,

    i couldn't get my macpro to successfully update until I disconnected all firewire and usb devices
     
  9. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #9
    You have a RAID setup for your Mac OS X boot partition ??
     
  10. sejanus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #10
    no

     
  11. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #11
    The "whoosh"-ing sound you hear is the point of this thread going totally over your head.
     

Share This Page