Mac Pro going into screensaver problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ljones, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. ljones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    http://www.urbansory.com/video/?id=ssproblem

    Preparing for work a few days ago, shortly after i updated my iPod, i see it flickering. So i snapped this video to see if anyone else had this occur. The problem went away right after i moved the mouse. hasn't happened since. I'm just glad i noticed it before leaving for work, other wise it would have done this all day, or hopefully the monitor would have timed out after the 10 minute idle.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Bizarre. Is the connection to the monitor firmly in place? This isn't a typical loose connection problem, but check it anyway. What GPU do you have and what brand monitor? Was it a one-off? :)
     
  3. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #3
    The OS X installed on my mac pro was kind of corrupted when I first got it.

    I reinstalled and a few problems I was having went away.

    I had to format, in fact.

    Perhaps this is your problem too.
     
  4. ljones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    All connections are tight. Standard Nvidia 7300. A new Viewsonic 22" Widescreen.


    The thing that bothers me is this only happened once. I've let it go to sleep a number of times before and after and I have yet to see it happen.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    If it's a one off then definitely don't worry about it. It'll be far too difficult to troubleshoot. Hopefully it won't happen again though. :)
     
  6. knome macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    what type of screen saver is it? like stock apple or 3rd party?
     
  7. ljones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  8. debracake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #8
    I've had the same problem with my iMac G for ages and haven't found a solution yet -- anybody know?
     
  9. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #9
    You dont have hotcorners enabled?


    Sometimes my mouse jumps to the corner...
     
  10. John@Portland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #10
    Terrable Screen Redraw Anomoly

    I got my MacPro in the mail last thursday. By the next day I had it mostly set up, then noticed that when playing DVD's, HD Movies, Games, and apples own screen saver Flurry. A line moves from the bottom to the top of the screen in about ten seconds, the line isn't black but rather you can see a time distortion between what is above and below the line. It basically looks like a VCR with the V-hold set wrong. This occurs every thing that moving 2D and 3D graphics are displayed across the screen. I called apple on sunday and giulded me threw software Checks, then advised that I take it in and set an appointment for me later that day. The "Apple Genius" that helped me was a total gerk. The said and wrote in his service report that he determined that the GPU s likly functioning under spec. and that I should have more resonable expectations. I would rely like comments. Is watching a tv show or a DVD with smooth play back an unresonable expectation. My system is a Quad proc 2.66 with 1 Gig ram and the X1900 XT graphics card.
     
  11. ljones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    Only hot corner is the upper right on mine. You can see where the cursor is on the screen in the video. Far from that corner.
     
  12. chillbob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    #12
    Hi,

    I had exactly the same problem and eventually i found that it was the screen saver, once it had run the next time i used the computer i found that the performance had degraded and the line that go's up like a bad VCR started appearing, it even noticeably effected the smoothness of the dock and minimisation of open windows. its like the screen savers are buggy and still consume masses of system resources even though not currently active e.g. i found that all of my 3Gb of RAM was used. It would remain like this until restart.

    Now i have the screen saver disabled and just have the monitors set to switch off after 10 minits. No problems at all

    p.s. i got the tip from my friend who runs Linux and told me that Linux screensavers are notorious for leaky memory
     
  13. waffles497 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #13
    me too

    I just got a new machine at work that is a mac pro and we purchased two 20" monitors (not from apple) and i'm having a similar issue that I saw on your video. It wont continuously flicker but it might flicker just like yours once or twice and then stop. I also have a problem where it will go into screen saver mode for no reason or after I am in screensaver and I unlock it it will log in but a split second later jump back into screen saver mode. I dont know why it's doing this but i may have to just turn off the screen saver according to what I read on here.
     
  14. scottydawg macrumors 6502

    scottydawg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #14
    Mine did the same thing about a month after getting my MP. It happened 2 times so I did a post here regarding that and put a video of the incident on YouTube. An update must have fixed it because it has never done it again.

    My old post (however I deleted the video):
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=471763
     

Share This Page