Mac Pro IN STOCK NOW!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by eyeluvmyimac, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. eyeluvmyimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    #1
    Hey all,

    I stopped by the Apple Store Fifth Ave on my way home from work tonight and they not only had 4 Mac Pros on display, but also had several in stock! They said they just got their shipment this morning and set them up this afternoon. Ironically, mine arrived at home at roughly the same time, except home is nearly 4 hours away (I'll see you Sunday mac pro!)

    To answer some questions about the machines:

    • All the machines on display were the stock machines (2.66ghz/1gig RAM/1 optical/etc)

    • They didn't immediately know which models were in stock for purchase, though I'd imagine they were all stock

    • Machines with only 1 optical drive still have two "slots" or "flaps" on the front

    • The new Airport/BT modules are apparently not in stock but may be in two weeks

    • "The best RAM to use right now is Apple RAM" due to it running cooler (the massive heat sink) -- from an employee

    • The default graphics card was installed and it isn't bad (but then I'm making the jump from the card in the 15" Alum. PowerBook Rev 1

    • I was able to play 4 1080p HD Trailers simultaneously without any jitters/skipping, at 5 it struggled

    • I opened nearly all the iApps at once and all opened before 1 dock-bounce except iDVD and Garageband which each bounced once

    • That's all I can remember...

    Any questions?

    EDIT: I forgot to ask - Does anyone know how long after a new product is released each employee of an Apple Store is trained? Several people at the store knew very little if anything about the Mac Pro...

    Photos:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/21254877@N00/211359366/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/21254877@N00/211359365/
     
  2. Jbook macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Atl
    #2
    Cant wait to get mine! i configured mine with the airport card without realizing that it delayed my order till september 13th... woops.

    2.66GHz x 4
    2GB RAM
    AP BT
    250GB
    x1900xt

    ships sept. 13th
     
  3. eyeluvmyimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    #3
    change your order and buy the card later (thats my plan)?
     
  4. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #4
    I still can't get over the fact that it doesn't come standard with wireless and BT. Okay, wireless isn't a big deal because I always plug my desktops right in to the network.. but BT? I imagine that even "pros" are going to want to sometimes sync their PDAs/phones/etc.. or what about wireless KB + mice?

    Seems silly that their lowest of low machines (mini) comes with those two standard, but you have to pay more for their highest end machine?
     
  5. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #5
    Yes, that does sound a bit stupid, especially considering how much easier it is to fit inside a Mac Pro rather than a Mac Mini...
     
  6. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #6
    Oh my gawd.

    :eek:
     
  7. eyeluvmyimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    #7
    I think (pure guess) that part of the issue may be what we are seeing right now. If they were to come default with it - they'd be announced on Monday, and not even shipping until early-mid September (another PowerMac G5 debacle on our hands). But by not including it default they were able to ship them immediately. Still providing the option to upgrade and wait as some people have chosen.
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    While that may be a factor, it is more likely that they are really just catering to professionals, many of whom do not want, or cannot have, wireless in their offices. There are plenty of employers who do not allow for wireless, or cameras for that matter, to be on the premises... Many have complained about this for the MBP where the iSight can't be removed.

    Heck, at one point my employer refused to buy anyone a computer with a sound card of any kind, and wireless is still a no-no in some parts of the building.

    B
     
  9. daveaudio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #9
    I am a professional and the new Mac Pro is something I have been waiting for.
    to be honest with you I would not want Wireless or bluetooth in my studio while I am working. I think most audio pro's feel exactly the same way I do. There is no need for blue tooth or wireless on a Pro Audio/Video/Graphics Machine in my opinion. When we are networked in a studio its most likey ethernet.
     

Share This Page