Mac Pro: Installation of a Lite-On SHM-165H6S Lightscribe drive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ronni3, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. ronni3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    I installed the drive in my mac pro and it works and all, but whenever I press the Eject key it ejects both of my optical disk drive trays, primary & secondary. By the way, I had to remove the original disk drive, Sony 111D, and place it in the secondary bay and place the Lite-On drive on the Primary, upper most, bay. I have no idea if this changed anything settings or what not, but now when I do the above both trays pop out.

    Anyone have an idea why?

    Link to Lite-On drive.
     
  2. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #2
    Are both drives set for cable select or are they set as master and slave? By any chance are both drives set as master? Top drive should be master bottom slave or both set to cable select.
     
  3. ronni3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Both are set to Cable-Select. That was the first thing I suspected, but it wasn't that. I think it could be the result of running Parallels. This only started occurring after installing Parallels.

    You know what, now that I think about it it only happens when I have Parallels running. Could it be possible when Parallels uses one of the optical drives for the virtual OS that OSX gets confused as to which drive I am asking to open, i.e. virtual (real Sony) drive versus the Lite-On drive?
     
  4. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #4
    I have dual drives in my Mac Pro. When I get home I will see if that happens on mine in parallels. I know for a fact that it does not happen in bootcamp though.
     
  5. ronni3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    I didn't really like Bootcamp and instead went with Parallels. I may decide to try Bootcamp again, but for the moment I enjoy Parallels. My decision was also probably based on the fact that I didn't like using one or the other, whereas with Parallels I can use both.

    Since you are using Bootcamp, how is the gaming on that end using XP? Do you get the full potential out of the video card versus very little in Parallels?
     
  6. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #6
    I use both parallels and bootcamp. I do game in bootcamp quite often. I play BF1942, BF2 and BF2142 quite allot and it games beautifully and I have also benchmarked the machine using 3dmark 03, 05, and 06 and the machine benches favorably to a PC. I also use the Mac Pro for Autocad 2007 and some Maya work. And again the machine performs great.
     
  7. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #7
    When I press eject on my keyboard while in parallels the top drive ejects not both. This is with the latest Official release. Build 1970
     
  8. ronni3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    That's weird! I have Build 3120. Did they finally release the finished software yet, or are they still only releasing Builds? :confused:


    I think I will be installing Bootcamp & WinXp once again, jst so I can enjoy all my games once again. :D
     
  9. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I shall wait for the 3D support before trying Parallels again.
     
  10. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #10

    3120 is a beta RC so it is newer than what I have but I chose not to install the beta build as I didnt want to play around doing install after install. I will upgrade to the next Official build as soon as it becomes available.
     

Share This Page