Mac Pro Now Available

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by clayj, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #2
    if you go through and configure it


    you can get a mac pro for 2100 us$(aprox)

    thats with a 2ghz xeon, lowest graphics and 160 gig hd

    not bad really

    the 3ghz seem a little like a ripoff

    but, if you max everything out, it'll cost you upwards of 10,000 dollars.


    good lord, who needs that much ram?
     
  2. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #3
    but boooy wouldn't it be amazing? haha ;)
     
  3. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    How much more can they cram in? :eek:

    Ooh, it's very nice to look at when the door opens, isn't it. Check out the four HD bays.
     
  4. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    I like this new way of configuring. Instead of starting with three different base models, just pick the specs you want. Simpler, less confusing. Now if the site wasn't so slow right now, I might play around with it a bit.
     
  5. Flowbee macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #6
    Their line-up is suspiciously missing a sub-$2000 "pro" desktop. A $1700 Mac Pro Cube or Mac Pro mini would fit very nicely.
     
  6. clayj thread starter macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #7
    I agree completely.

    It used to be (a long time ago) that the fastest computer you could get always cost around $5,000. Then, over time, that price dropped to $3,000. Now we're pushing down through $2,500 toward $2,000.

    For headless Macs, there is a HUGE gulf between a maxxed out Mac mini ($1000) and the lowest level of Mac Pro ($2200). There needs to be something in that $1000-$1500 range, like (as you said) a Mac mini Pro or a Mac Cube Duo.

    I was a little disappointed to see that the case for the Mac Pro is IDENTICAL to the old PowerMac G5 case.
     
  7. menziep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #8
    Apple are still selling there Power PC Powermacs and xserves

    On the US Apple Store

    Maybe to get rid of stocks?
     
  8. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #9
    isn't that where the iMac comes into play? it's not a "pro" computer, but it's better than the mini.
     
  9. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #10
    Support for up to 8 displays? (20-23") :D

    Now if only they could make those screen bezel narrower…
     
  10. daxpd28 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #11
    Second Batch

    I've heard that it's usually better to wait for the second batch of a new line before purchasing, due to various bugs that get worked out.

    Is there any truth to that?
     
  11. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
    #12
    Sli doesn't work that way. In fact, dual sli only lets you have ONE display. (1, UNO!) I don't know about quad sli, though.
     
  12. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #13
    Nope, BUY NOW!!!!
     
  13. menziep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #14
    Yeah but the can work on there own

    So you can have 8 displays
     
  14. daxpd28 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #15
    Second Batch

    You don't work on commision do you?
     
  15. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
    #16
    I don't know anything about the driver they use; but i'm guessing they're not going to allow that..

    With sli, One card does half of it and the other card the other half (more like 5/9 and 4/9 every frame. With them seperate, they render on their own which is not really suggested.
     
  16. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #17
    Yes? No?

    Could you span your desktop over 8 displays with 4 cards?

    _
     

    Attached Files:

    • a.jpg
      a.jpg
      File size:
      21 KB
      Views:
      34
    • b.jpg
      b.jpg
      File size:
      3.8 KB
      Views:
      34
  17. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
    #18
    Ah, crap! No sli?!
    >.<
    What's the point of having multiple cards without sli?!
     
  18. spencecb macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #19
    Since the Keynote is not available to watch online yet, I spent time reading through all of the information about the new Mac Pro on Apple's website, and it is quite an impressive computer.

    I know people are already bitching about the case design being identical, but this is a fabulous piece of technology. If you bought the 2.66 Quad, this computer would last you for quite a few years with all of the expandability of the computer.

    Simply amazing. And it doesn't come at too much of a premium cost, either.
     
  19. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #20
    Because SLI is hopeless for multi-monitor use?
     
  20. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
    #21
    Graphics will go as slow as $#!@ with two displays on a single 7300. I mean; you're better off with an imac!
     
  21. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #22
    Mucho Macho Desktop? :D

    You could fit a 1:1 scale calendar girl/dude on such a desktop. ;)

    _
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page