Mac Pro power problem....

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Karpfish, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. Karpfish macrumors 6502a

    Karpfish

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #1
    ok, so i just got my mac pro todat and its great but i hav a problem. Whenever i turn it on or wake it up, all the lights flicker in the room so i know it is usinf a crap load of power. What should i do? Do i need a UPS?
     
  2. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #2
    Odds are that it a wiring problem.
    It's fairly common in apartments and "tract homes"

    It's also simple to deal with. First thing is to find out if the house wiring is the issue. If you CAREFULLY pull out one of the outlets in the wall. Look at the 2 or 4 wires running into the back of it. If they are screwed in, then this isn't your problem. if they are simply pressed into little holes in the back, then you have found the problem.

    The thing with the outlets is this; when they are pressed into the little holes, they are only making contact with a tiny surface. (about 1mm x 2mm) When they are attached by the screw posts, they are making the best contact and the power flows better.

    It's not hard to attach them correctly. You just need a set of wire cutters / strippers and a screw driver. The hard part is the fact that you have to so this to EVERY OUTLET in the house. :) It's not fun... I know, my house had 41 miss-wired outlets when I bought it...
     
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    I would highly suggest you turn off the breaker for that plug when you pull it out. Especially if you new to this.
     
  4. DMPDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #4
    Agreed.

    But to the first reply, It is not just a common issue with apartments or tract homes. It will happen most everywhere with hig drawing electronics such as amp's, recievers, electric kilns, etc. Its an uneven flow of power dragging more to that outlet rather then letting the 120 some volts stream equally throught the house.
     
  5. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
  6. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #6
    I disagree with this completely.
    The box is still going to draw the power on boot. The UPS isn't going to give it more power than the house has. My UPS did not stop my lights from dimming. The only thing that did was to correctly wire all of the outlets.
     
  7. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #7
    Yes, DO THIS. Sorry, I left that out.
     

Share This Page