Mac Pro Ram Questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rainmanbk, Aug 11, 2006.

  1. rainmanbk macrumors 6502

    rainmanbk

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Southington, CT
    #1
    Do I need to pair the ram sticks? Is it worth just getting Apple ram? I usually get ram elsewhere, what brands are ok? What do you guys think?
     
  2. Kou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #2
    I don't think the RAM has to be paired.

    You can pick your CPU model at www.crucial.com and it will tell you which one you need.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    "DIMMs must be installed in pairs of equal size from the same vendor." - Apple
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Yes, they MUST be paired.

    But in reality for absolute BEST performance, it should be 4 DIMMs at a time to take advantage of the machines quad channel memory bus.

    As far as Apple vs. everyone else -- one the heatsink issue gets solved. It shouldn't matter, unless you want to pay the enourmous Apple premium.
     
  5. rainmanbk thread starter macrumors 6502

    rainmanbk

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Southington, CT
    #5
    So if i get the 1Gb from Apple, and then get two Kingston 1GB sticks, then i'll be ok?

    Should I get heatsinks?
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Yes, get memory with Heatsinks for the Mac Pro.

    OWC is including the heatsinks with their DIMMs, but their DIMMs start with 2GB kits.

    [​IMG]

    But the $300 1GB upgrade isn't too ugly at Apple either.
     
  7. rainmanbk thread starter macrumors 6502

    rainmanbk

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Southington, CT
    #7
    Wow those are expensive. I think I will get the Apple ram.
     
  8. SwitchingSoon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #8
    Seriously. $560 for 2 GB at OWC? Ouch.
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    They should come down quick at others start bringing out Mac Pro FB-DIMM heatsinks.

    Edit: Remember it is a supply problem at the moment, so prices should improve in a bit.
     
  10. wdhpgx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #10
    And note, Crucial pulled their MacPro dimms, because they don't have enough heatsinks on them.

    Anyone know about Datamem's, how they are for heatsinks?? Everyone else's is so expensive..
     
  11. dex22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    #12
    It's the right memory module, but it doesn't have a heatsink, only a heat spreader.

    Wait a few weeks and there will be plenty of modules in the aftermarket with Apple-style heatsinks on them.
     
  12. YoYoMa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #13
    Really? You think this will happen within just a few weeks time? That would be fantastic.
     
  13. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #14
    Christ, I'd go bankrupt putting RAM in that thing.

    *hugs old machine*
     
  14. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #15
    I'm sure it'll even out pretty quickly. Intel only started shipping this chipset last month, right?

    Give everybody a little time to get ramped up. And heat spreaders will work fine, but they'll make the fans run louder. All depends on whether the tradeoff is worth it to you.

    Me, I'd probably just wait a bit, or buy from DMS and keep my fingers crossed that they're selling stuff with a big heatsink.
     
  15. dex22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    #16
    The fans wouldn't run faster. The memory would run hotter, but the total heat output remains the same. The inadequate heatsink just needs to reach a higher temperature to conduct the same amount of heat from its smaller surface area.

    If anything, the fans would run slower initially, as it would take longer for the memory to reach a point where it effectively radiates the same amount of heat.

    The only manufacturing change that needs to happen for already ramping FB-DIMM production lines is to make an extrusion tooling to produce the desired profile of aluminum heatsink.

    Supply will match demand in a few weeks. Prices will remain high for a few weeks after that, but in 2-3 months the market will adapt, and FB-DIMMS will drop to a price that's comparable to other server-grade memory.
     
  16. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #17
    I ordered 2GB of RAM from Datamem, arrived the next day -- LOVE IT!
     
  17. holmespun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #18
    Datamem RAM

    Does the RAM that you received from Datamem have the large heat sinks on it, like the Apple and OWC RAM does?
     
  18. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #19
    His pictures showed heat spreaders only.
     
  19. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #20
    Pics here:
     
  20. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #21
    Buy a Dell, then you go _really_ bankrupt.

    The only thing is, the Dell webpage is slippery as an eel. It is absolutely impossible to go to the webpage twice and get the same stuff or the same prices. And I can't get US prices at all from the UK, unlike Apple's website.

    A few hours ago, I found 16 GB of memory at 667 MHz for a Dell Precision 690 for over £7000, which was about £4500 more than the 533 MHz memory. Now it cannot be found anywhere. On the other hand, to have two 3.0 GHz Woodcrest instead of a single 1.83 GHz costs you £1930 extra (that was about £1400 a few hours ago). Sheer madness.
     
  21. Cocobolo macrumors member

    Cocobolo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #22
    A potentally embarassing question...

    If I have more ram in my mac, will it spread the work out equally, resulting in cooler ram?
     

Share This Page