Mac Pro ram

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andyjamesnelson, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. andyjamesnelson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #1
    Hey. I was wondering if anyone could answer me this quick question.

    Do I need to get ram with heatsinks on it if i buy the ram from a thrid party dealer?

    And does this save any significant amount of money.

    Is it dangerous? Might the ram over heat and die. Or does it make the com louder becuase the fans needs to come on more often?

    If I can do without the heatsinks why does apples ram include them. Surely they know more about the system and think ti wise to include them. Doesnt this say something about needing or not needing the heat sinks.

    Why are 1gig stick so much more then two 512mb?

    Is 2gig of ram enough to run the computer smoothly without the ram being a bottle neck. I will be using photoshop heavly and final cut a lot.

    Thanks for you help. Andy.
     
  2. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #2
    As far as the heat sinks go I would strongly recommend that you make sure you have them. Try to remember these are not regular PC's they are built more like servers then regular pc's therefore running the memory as cool as you can is important for the error correction circuitry to perform at top efficiency.
     
  3. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #3
    Please use the search feature. Mac Pro RAM has been discussed to death around here, even vendors.
     
  4. weaverra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    #4
    Does anyone know what happens if you use non buffered ram in the Mac Pro?
     
  5. rgomez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    Aguascalientes, México
    #5
    You can't. Standard DDR2 dimms don't fit the ram slots, and the technology is totally different between standard ddr2 and fb-dimm.
     

Share This Page