Mac pro specifications for media production

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ed2020, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. ed2020 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #1
    I am interested to find out the ideal Mac hardware specifications required for quite demanding/professional picture and video editing and music production?

    Thanks in advance for any advice.

    Cheers, Ed
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Just get the medium Mac Pro with an upgraded GPU (not necessarily the top one), a couple of Cheetas as startup and scratch disks and as much RAM as you can afford... ;)
     
  3. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #3
    The base MacPro will handle Final Cut Studio fine. A few RAM bumps and it'll fly.

    What are you wanting to run/do/produce?
     
  4. ed2020 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the reply. I'm looking to run Final Cut studio and shake to produce broadcast quality film. Logic pro for music. Also something for 3D modelling and animation.

    Cheers,

    Ed
     
  5. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    The difference between the 2.66Ghz and 3.00Ghz versions aren't substantial. It's better to pump the extra cost into more RAM - go for 4Gb if you can. If you're really serious about Shake and 3D stuff, that'll really do some good.

    As much RAM as you can afford! ;)
     
  6. ed2020 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #6
    Thanks thats great, just the advice I was looking for.
     
  7. PegasusMedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #7
    There is no easy answer to your question. It depends on a million variables, including your definition of "demanding". The stock answer is "the very best you can afford."

    Any Mac pro is capable of editing. How much extra RAM, which capture card, which additional hardware, how much extra drive space, what additional software, etc, etc depend on your needs.
     
  8. spicyapple macrumors 68000

    spicyapple

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #8
    If you're editing DV and HDV, the stock Mac Pros are sufficient. If you're working with HD uncompressed, you'll need to splurge on a fast array, like the Xserve RAIDs, and something like a Kona card.

    The Apple Mac Pro website has details in Film and Video.
     
  9. ed2020 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #9
    It is for an education environment in order to produce broadcast quality film and music in final cut studio, shake and logic pro
     
  10. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #10
    get the best you can afford.

    as an educator, there should be other people who can answer these questions within your school/district/etc

    and the best bet is to contact apple education sales as they have 24/7 people who deal especially with this kind of purchase and questions.
     

Share This Page