Mac Pro still available?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lothar250, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. lothar250 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #1
    Hey there guys!

    I'm considering buying a 2.66 mac pro with the ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512 MB... But recently I've heard that somebody's shipping date of the Mac Pro is like September or November... So, can anybody confirm that? Because if I'd have to wait until then anyway, I'd better wait for the 2nd gen Mac Pros

    Greetings!
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    Currently if you change the video card to the X1900XT at the Apple Store, the ship time jumps from 24 hours to 3-5 weeks. Any other BTO video card only increases the turnaround to 3-5 days.

    So, pick any other card (or get the base card and order the 1900 separately) if you want a Mac Pro quickly.
     
  3. lothar250 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #3
    Hmm... What about if i buy it with 3xGeForce 7300??? How do like dual or triple graphic cards work anyway? What would be the difference between the X1900XT and a triple GF7300?
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    Adding cards means you can run more monitors - it doesn't give you a boost in performance because OS X doesn't support SLI.
     
  5. solaris macrumors 6502a

    solaris

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #5
    The X1900 can drive two screens (up to two 30" ACD). While the 7300 can drive two 20" or 23", or one 30" ACD each. So with three 7300 cards you can drive six (6) displays, while the X1900 can drive two (2)
     
  6. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    As I wrote, 3-5 days. You can play with this at any time by going to the Apple Store online, picking the Mac Pro, and pressing the Configure button. The lead times will change dynamically as you change the options in the list.

    They can drive more displays, if you have them. I don't think you'll be finding any software that can take advantage of an idle GPU for other purposes.
     

Share This Page