Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macintosh Sauce, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. Macintosh Sauce macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Long time reader here - first post. :)

    This evening, I bought myself an early Christmas present, which I definitely deserve after the term I just went through at university. LOL

    I sold my old Power Mac G4 (dual 1.25 GHz MD) on eBay for $1000, plus my brother-in-law is buying my Windows XP computer for $500. I put in the rest and with my academic discount, I am getting a 3.00 GHz quad core mac pro next week. The Mac Pro will be running Mac OS X, Windows XP, and PCLinuxOS/Ubuntu (in Parallels). Going to be sweet indeed!


    MAC PRO,CTO
    Z0D8

    Custom configuration


    3.00 GHz Quad Xeon
    1GB 667 DDR2 FB DIMM ECC-2x512
    ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB
    160GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s drive
    2x16x SuperDrive DL
    Airprt Extrm & BT 2.0+EDR
    Apple Keyboard & Mighty Mse
    iWorks '06
    Mac OS X
    Country Kit
     
  2. R.R.Mac macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
  3. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #3
    You need more RAM. I take it you're planning to add third party RAM?

    I've got the 2.66's but with 4GB of RAM. To say it's an awesome, awesome powerhouse of a machine would be a vast understatement.
     
  4. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #4
    4 is definitely recommended. 2 is passable - but the question would be why run such an awesome machine (and the Pro is indeed almost as awesome as my Dell Precisions :p ) with restricted memory, would be the main question. It's like tying two legs of a racehorse together.
     
  5. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #5
    Grats on your new mac. I would also recommend adding more RAM as Sesshi said, i have 4GB RAM in my mac pro and i am thinkinking of adding 2GB more. I have the damn RAM beside me but i cant find a nice time to add it i am always downloading something.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Congratulations! It sounds like you're really going to be putting that machine through its paces! And, being already black and blue with respect to the beating of missives to get more RAM, I shall put down my foil and save you my riposte. :)
     
  7. Karpfish macrumors 6502a

    Karpfish

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #7
    if i were you, i would have gone for more ram and the 2.66 instread of getting the 3.0 and stock 1gb.
     
  8. Macintosh Sauce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Thanks... :) I really wanted the faster 3.00 GHz model - that is why I got the bare minimum for RAM and HD space.

    I am going to add another 4 GB when I can afford it. LOL Getting more RAM is going to have to wait until at least February... The Mac Pro will just have to work with 1 GB until then.

    I just dropped over $4500 on this baby, along with some hardware/software I ordered in separate orders. i.e. graphics tablet, Parallels, Apple loops add-ons (all 4), iSight, etc.

    In January, my Amish-made solid cherry wood desk will be arriving, which is setting me back another $1000.

    With regards to RAM, I am going to add 4 GB in stages, in order to fully populate the 16 GB capacity. Later, I am planning on adding 4 - 750 GB HDs as well. Though, the 4 GB RAM is the priority purchase in the early new year.
     
  9. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #9
    Yeah, I have 2Gb of Ram, and honestly... its screaming out for more. Just wish it was cheaper :(
     
  10. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #10
    Stateside

    Have you seen the £/$ exchange rate? A weekend in New York seems likely! I could easily spend/save hundreds of pound when doing the Christmas shopping!

    I'd love to find out how much x2 1GB modules cost at a US apple store!

    Any of you yanks know how much Apple Stores are charging? Congrats on the Mac Pro, I'm running a 2.66, and i've been thinking of more RAM recently.

    F
     
  11. Macintosh Sauce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    If you are looking for RAM get it from these people. I recommend them very highly, as I have dealt with them in the past. Excellent service and warranty IMHO!

    TransIntl

    Check out the heat sinks on the FB-DIMMS for the Mac Pro! They have six ridges for dissipating heat instead of four (like everyone else) - much better.
     
  12. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #12
    USA apple store:
    1GB module: $300
    2GB Module : $700
     
  13. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #13
    Why be an ass? You don't even have 50 posts yet.
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    Yes! Being asses is our job! :mad: :D

    [​IMG]
     
  15. petite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #15
    I know I haven't reached 50 posts but I can't help myself... Are you going to be coming here to tell us about every purchase you make?!?

    Sounds like you don't actually need this computer. Looks like you just want the 3GHz because it gives you more bragging credit. To the unknowing it sounds like a better computer but 2.66GHz plus more RAM is way better. Everyone here is advising you to go that way but you chose to ignore that and brag about your $1000 solid cherry wood desk instead.

    And oh yeah. Next March I am going to buy these sweet $300 Crocodile Leather Nikes.
     
  16. Macintosh Sauce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Uh... No. :rolleyes: Do you think I should brag about my 1 GB RAM and 160 GB HD? I didn't think so... Also, for the last year I have been using bloody plastic folding tables for my computer room. I am a little excited because I am actually going to have a solid desk for once, so my stuff doesn't sway when I bump against it. Also, I need a solid desk to hold my 21" Viewsonic monitor that weighs 55 lbs.

    I need the extra processing power for graphical/programming requirements. See picture below... I am working on a new line of children's educational software for the Macintosh platform. I have big plans for this and now I have to turn it into reality.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. petite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #17
    Alright, nice to hear :) Just too many people that post these threads about buying a computer they don't need.

    Sounds good and I like the ferrets :) Good luck with this project.
     
  18. Macintosh Sauce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #18
    Since I have been a "power" computer user for quite some time, the more processing power I can get the better. I have a little rule in life... I never buy what I don't need. I will save up my pennies for the 4 GB of RAM I want to add - it will come, God willing, in due time. Initially, I was actually considering getting a C2D MacBook Pro, but after checking out the Mac Pro and the black Mac Book, I changed my mind completely.

    Thanks regarding the cartoon ferrets. :) They are modeled after two of my four ferrets: Sula (female-left) and Pepper (male-right). I think they are so incredibly cute and are very appealing to children. This has been the consensus of many people that have seen this graphic. To me, this is so important because it will be the first thing that will grab a child's attention. Once that is accomplished, there is the potential for large recognition of a children's line of educational software.

    I really want to work on a Math program first, because I find so many students these days don't have great Math skills. This is very bad and quite short-sighted IMHO. Without proper Math skills, many people graduating from high school have so many avenues closed to them. e.g. engineering, programming, architecture, etc. This is not good for the future of our country... We have to instill better Math skills in them at an early age, so they don't fear Math later on.
     
  19. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #19
    Hi Macintosh Sauce, welcome to MacRumors! You've got yourself a great machine and I'm sure it'll help you with your work for many years.

    I'm hoping to get one soon, but keep holding off for a newer model (want it to last 5 years). But it's getting harder! :)
     
  20. petite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #20
    I think your plan is very noble. It is always nice to see people working on bettering our environment... I think you definately deserve the best tools - desk or computer :) But I would, like others suggested, try to squeeze out some extra money for at least 1GB extra RAM because the MP really takes off with the extra RAM.
     
  21. Videographer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #21
    Agreed. I had some memory problems recently (bad Apple memory) and was forced to use only 1GB for a while. It was night and day difference even compared to just 2 GB which is what I'm using for now until prices go down. It made it run more like a 2 year old machine rather than the "fastest Mac ever."
     
  22. Diskdoctor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #22
    what dose a lot dose a little....
    Buy the best mac you can now you can upgrade your ram later and its cheaper to buy it on line i did..

    Apple think they are selling gold bars not ram for the price they ask..

    And the seagate 750 HHD is only 350$ online too

    I maxed my mac out but not with apple I bought all online
     

Share This Page