mac problems!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Jonesi, Mar 12, 2005.

  1. Jonesi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #1
    a friend of mine has just bought a new apple mac.

    We are both moderators on a chat site and since she's been using the mac, she can no longer get into the chatrooms. The chat room states that it need the lastest version of IE and Java to be accessable. It also says that if you are behind a firewall port 2000 needs to be open.

    i can give you the name of the site if anyone wants to take a look. I have no knowledge of macs at all, has anyone got any suggestions as to what could be the problem or solution? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Jonesi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #3
    It isn't spam!! Get ur facts straight before u go sticking pictures up of chopped pork! I have a genuine problem and if you ain't got anything constructive to say then don't say it!! Help is ALL I'm after!! Geeez!! :mad:
     
  3. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I think the spam reference is due to the fact that you linked to your site. Unfortunately, as a newbie, that makes people suspicious. Harsh but true. You're lucky it was iGary and not edesignuk who got there first. Try removing the link and you might have more luck
     
  4. Jonesi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #5

    Have done, and thanks :D
     
  5. Jigglelicious macrumors 6502

    Jigglelicious

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    What kind of chat room is it? If its java, make sure that you have the latest software updates, which have the latest java runtimes included. Safari *should* work, but you can try the IE bundled with OSX to see if that helps any. You can also try Firefox. Technically, if its a java app then it should work regardless of the browser you are working - thats the whole point of Java!

    If its really an IRC chat room that they have made easier to access through a java app on their website, then you'd be better off just downloading an IRC client and accessing the room through that.
     
  6. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #7
    Like other posters have said make sure you have the latest updates installed and to open up the relevant port via 'Sharing' in System Preferences.
     
  7. Jonesi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #8
    Think it's java chatroom, it initialises an applet when u enter the room and uses javascript.

    This is what my friend put in our "staff forum" as she's been asking for advice there. She's also installed java 1.4.2 for mac os x from the apple site but still no joy. Think she's trying to open the port:-


    "*sigh* Still got probs here - obviously no-one knows :eek:(

    apparently it's not the mac it's the firewall - but cos it's on a mac it's complicated to open ports, basically i need to oppen port 2000 and here's what I got from the "help" screen on apple...

    If you need to specify a proxy server, your network administrator should provide you with the information you need. The information should include the type of proxy server to specify (for example, a web proxy server), the IP address or DNS name for the server, and a port number.
    You specify proxy server information using Network preferences. You can open the appropriate Network preferences pane using Safari preferences.

    Anybody any idea what the DNS name for the server is? or where I'd find it?"


    We're now thinking bout her getting a pc emulator, but is it worth the hassle or could this problem be fixable?
     
  8. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #9
    I would be happy to take a look, it might just be something simple

    I'll need a link of course :p
     
  9. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #10
    To open port 2000 choose system preferences->sharing->firewall->new. This will bring up a new box. Choose other then enter 2000 under port name and choose a description for the service. Can't remember how to find DNS - it is Saturday after all and theres rugby on. If no-one can help now wait til Monday when there are a lot more people online :)
     
  10. Jonesi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #11
    darwin, pm'd u the link, thanks for having a look!!!!

    Nickygoat, thanks for the info, will post ur reply in our staff forum and see how she gets on! If not will try back monday. thanks for ur help :D
     
  11. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #12
    Well I have experienced what you have been talking about

    My Mac is all up to date so that isn't the problem

    At the moment I have a firewall in place (can't modify) so I can't see if opening up the port will work, thing is I don't see why it should need to be opened just for something as simple as chatting

    It does say MS Java is needed so its possible that the site has been built to just run on Windows IE

    I'll keep looking but I'm not sure what can be done
     
  12. OnaMacSince1989 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #13
    Pop up blocker on?

    Some chatrooms using Java have a pop-up window that needs to load...try turning off the pop-up blocker...after the java pop-up launches, the pop-up blocker can be turned back on.
     

Share This Page