Mac the Ripper and Lion not compatible

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Alx9876, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    :confused:

    Greetings everyone,

    The title say's it all. I did not expect this to happen when I upgraded to Lion day one release. I waited till now to see if any threads would pop up on this topic.

    So far I have not seen one but I could have missed it if there were.

    I did see the message about purchasing MTR for Lion but I can't even find that online let alone buy it.

    Does anyone have any idea's, links, etc..?

    I do have Rip it but I've been a long time user of MTR and feel much more at home with this program.

    Any help would be great. Thank you for reading this. :)
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    It was well documented that Lion dropped Rosetta support, which allowed apps written for PowerPC processors to work on the modern Intel processors. MacTheRipper is an old app and requires Rosetta to work.

    But, that doesn't solve your current dilemma. I wish I could help. If you find anything, let us know. MTR is pretty much the main reason I have help off on updating my iMac. My MacBook has had Lion since day 1.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    jsoto

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Lion Ready!

    You need to install version 4.1.5.2
    You will need to go to the developers website & request a download. Once version 4.1.5.2 is installed it will be Lion ready!

    Enjoy!:D
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    Thank you for the great replays. I was not aware of Lion prior to the install. I will go check out the developers website for sure. :D:apple:
     
  5. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    MTR just rips the DVD to your hard drive. Handbrake encodes it to compress it into a different format. Handbrake can also rip thanks to VLC that has to also be installed, but MTR is much faster.

    I use MTR when I have a pile of DVDs that I want to rip/encode. MTR only takes maybe 15-20 minutes to rip the movie onto the hard drive. I then do that for a bunch of movies. Before I go to bed, I'll put them all in my handbrake queue and let it run overnight.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    Rip it is much easier and works much better than MTR, not sure why you don't just use Ripit.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    Because MTR is free, but I do agree that rip it is the best hands down.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #9
    I've gradually migrated to RipIt over the last while and bought the program, its been a great purchase.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #10
    Then just use makeMKV to rip into mkv. That's what I do and then queue them up in HB for encoding.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #11
    I gotta give another nod to MakeMKV. I've been using it for a couple of years now. The best part is that it will rip bluray as well as DVD. And it's free while it's in beta.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #12
    +1
    Much better than MTR -- greater compatibility. I've been using this without issue for a while now.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #13
    So how did you get your hands on MTR without donating to the developer. It was my understanding that any version above 2.66 required a donation.

    That being said I donated to get MTR but I switched to RipIt anyway it was just easier to use.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #14
    Yeah, RipIt all the way. I only use MakeMKV for Blu-Rays; I try to avoiding dealing with it's god-awful interface as much as possible.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Cittagazze
    #15
    Same here. Went through the secret handshake clandestine "gifting" process, but switched to RipIt when I got it as part of a software bundle. Once I got into Blu-Ray, I started using MakeMKV almost exclusively because, as rmb7984 said...

    Between MakeMKV and Handbrake, I'm pretty much covered.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #16
    Same here. I just started doing my Blu-Rays, and MakeMKV has been great and fast. It's only the actual conversion through HandBrake that takes a while.

    On a side note for anyone that can help...what are your settings for your Blu-Ray AppleTV2 rips? So far I've only done my Harry Potter movies and set them for 5Mbps 720p, and while they look awesome, I was wondering how high I can push the ATV without taking more than 10GB per movie (currently I'm sitting at 6.5GB per).
     
  17. Mr. Zarniwoop, Aug 18, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011

    macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #17
    MTR v4.1.5.1 and higher supports Lion. You can give a gift to support development of MacTheRipper.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #18
    I haven't tried RipIt yet. Sounds like I am going to have to give it a try.
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #19
    You should great little app, for standard DVD's it works like a charm, not as fast at ripping as MTR but very easy to use.
     

Share This Page