Mac to PC

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by stag, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. stag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #1
    Hey all,

    Can someone recommend me a Mac to PC emulator so I can run a programme made for windows? Do I have to upload a seperate windows programme or do they come with everything included. I only want to run this programme and nothing else...

    Oh, my Mac is a G5 10.3.9

    Cheers
    Stag
     
  2. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #2
    virtual pc is all i can think of.

    you'll need a copy of windows to do it.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Yeah, Virtual PC is probably your best option for running the app on your Mac. However, what is the app? VPC is extremely slow and has no 3D support so it's not a feasible option for many even slightly intensive Windows apps.
     
  4. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #4
    There is Q, a very slow program. You require acopy of Windows.
     
  5. stag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #5
    U mean to say i need a copy of windows? Oh for ***** sakes! The programme is a simple table type thing for calculating data u input into it. Nothing taxing at all...

    How much does this virtual PC cost?
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Well you could also try Darwine http://darwine.opendarwin.org/, if it's really a simple app and doesn't require an installer you might just get it to work.

    B
     
  7. stag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #7
    Right, just seen the price and its defo not worth it for this programme.

    Darn
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Darwine is free. Give it a shot. You don't need a full copy of windows.

    B
     
  9. stag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
  10. billchase2 macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #10
    in the readme for darwine it says that it can't open windows apps on PPC based macs.
     
  11. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    I second the nod to Virtual PC not having much graphics power...

    Heck, it can't even run properly Doom II...:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page