Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ryan1524

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 9, 2003
Canada GTA
i have a friend whose school uses Macs and always has been. it's running the new iMacs with OS X, assuming it's Jag. he's also been a long time PC user alongside his use of Mac.
despite hearing the great things about Mac. he told me that his experiences with it is not all that.

why is this? is it true? are there any mac users who is not 'that' satisfied with their macs? any mac users who actually switched to a pc??

any comments are appreciated. thx. :)

mymemory

macrumors 68020
May 9, 2001
Miami
To be honest...

I have been using Mac for 10 years now and right now I'm writting you with IE using 9.2.2 (not clasic).

OSX is a "have to" for me, specially because the nvigation is messy and it takes longer to get a file under than OSX file system than under 9. OSX can be more organize but organization doesn't allways mean efficiency.

The rest of the OSX is finem I hate not to be able to manipulate the new Apple Menu Items, it just moved all my menues one space to the right to fit a not costumisable Apple Menu that rather than simplify is redundant. The Apple Menu and Finder could be togather under the same menu.

For me as a regular user OSX closed some doors to me this time, I'm like a fish in the water with OS9 (I have a nother computer with OSX) and even I can reconized the impruvments OSX still not my best option yet.

bennetsaysargh

macrumors 68020
Jan 20, 2003
New York
all of my PC friends hate macs because they use 233 bondi blue iMacs with OS 9.0.0. i never heard of anyone switching from mac to PC though.

mymemory

macrumors 68020
May 9, 2001
Miami
If I ever get a PC it is because to have a bit of everything but forget about leaving a Mac for a PC.

alia

macrumors 65816
Apr 2, 2003
Tampa, FL (Orlando, 2003 - 2023)
I switched!