Mac UT2004 v3334 Demo released!

Discussion in 'Games' started by CannonFodder, Sep 28, 2004.

1. CannonFodder macrumors member

For those interested in a newer Demo for UT2004, you can find it Here!

The demo contains 7 maps (AS-Convoy, ONS-Torlan, ONS-Primeval, DM-Rankin, CTF-BridgeOfFate, CTF-Face Classic, BR-Colossus), 7 game modes (Assault, Onslaught, Deathmatch, Capture The Flag, Team Deathmatch, Bombing Run, Instagib CTF)

2. veedubdrew macrumors regular

I downloaded this demo last night just for the heck of it. I had heard for so long on these boards about how much Macs suck for gaming, so I've never really bothered trying.

Well, UT runs beautifully! I turned up all the settings and it looked spectacular. Obviously I'm no pro gamer, but UT2004 demo looked just great. Can I expect similar performance with the full game? I might just have to hit the Apple store and pick it up.

Maybe Macs don't suck so bad for gaming after all. If 10.3.6 does indeed have new ATI drivers, and if developers recompile their apps using GCC 4.0 for better vectorization, maybe things will get even better.

On a side note, now that I'm not so scared of gaming on my Mac, does Sim City 4 run okay? I always loved that game on my PC.

-Drew

3. Elan0204 macrumors 65816

Elan0204

According to BareFeats, this version of the demo runs 49% to 64% better than the original depending on the settings used. I don't know if similar performace improvements are acheived when patching the full UT2004 game to version 3334. Anyone with the full version want to weigh in?

4. benpatient macrumors 68000

i think you'll find SimCity 4 frustratingly slow on your machine....but I may be wrong.

5. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

javabear90

I didn't sign up so I found another link on filefront.... here have fun... still dl'ing

6. ijimk macrumors 6502a

ijimk

I play reatil unreal 2004 on my mac at 1680 by 1050 with all settings turned up and it runs beautifully. :D

7. WhiteSavage macrumors regular