Mac wont let me Run Final Cut Pro, help appreciated.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Rimssky, May 12, 2013.

  1. Rimssky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #1
    I just got my first mac the other day, ive only ever used the PC, so I am very unfamilair with how it works.
    I downlaoded a trial version of Final Cut por, and when I try to installing it, it says.
    "cant use version of the application final cut pro with Mac OSX" What does this mean? Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    What model of a Mac do you have, what Operating System, which FCP version you try to install.

    You can get the OS version by clicking on the Apple Menu>About this Mac.

    Dependable on your System version Open System Profiler or System Information inside your Applications>Utilities Folder and find the Model Identifier.
     
  3. Rimssky, May 12, 2013
    Last edited: May 12, 2013

    Rimssky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #3
    Thankyou very much for your responce. I am trying to down a trial to the newest version of FCP.
    I am sorry I am huge noob when it comes to macs..

    I clicked on the icon that says about this Mac, and it just said 10.5.7.
    Im not sure if that helps any.


    The model is.. Macbook pro 17,
    model identifier is Macbook pro,1,2
    Processor name, Intel Core Duo
    SMC version 1.5f10
     
  4. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #4
    Duff-Man says....if the demo is in deed for the latest version of Final Cut (Final Cut Pro X) then your problem is your operating system is too old to run the program. From Apple's tech specs site:

    So, you'll need to upgrade your OS in order to run the demo....oh yeah!
     
  5. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #5
    You can't, see here:

    Final Cut Pro X - Technical Specifications
     
  6. Rimssky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #6
    \

    Thanks for the reply, how do I updgrade?

    ----------

    Would it work with any other versions of FCP? Is upgrading difficult?
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    You can buy 10.6 from Apple. Upgrading is pretty easy-you can either do a fresh install, or simply upgrade over the OS you already have, which keeps you from having to reinstall programs and copy your files back over.
     
  8. Rimssky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #8
    Thankyou very much for all your help I really appreciate it.

    So, right now I have 10.5.7.


    Do I have to buy this one first?
    http://www.amazon.com/Mac-version-10-6-3-Snow-Leopard/dp/B001AMHWP8

    Or can I simply just straight to the one that is compatiable with the program?

    https://itunes.apple.com/app/os-x-mountain-lion/id537386512?ls=1&mt=12
     
  9. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #9
    I would buy it here instead, it's $19.99 instead of $30 and the update to 10.6.8 is free. You cannot run Mountain Lion–your MacBook doesn't support anything past 10.6.8.
     
  10. Rimssky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #10
    Good call, I will do that, thankyou so much for your repsonces,
    I really appreciate =)
     

Share This Page