Mac won't start after changing resolution.

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by lman, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. lman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #1
    I was simply changing the display resolution. It did not complain, but after I restarting I get the Sync: Out of Range message. I was hoping to unplug the monitor to telnet into the machine to change the settings back...no luck. The machine just stops after the Sync: Out of Range Message.


    Any advice ?

    Thanks
     
  2. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
    #2
  3. lman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #3
    Still not working after changing resoluion....can't boot in safe mode

    Nothing's working ....this is getting ridiculous.

    Should I find another monitor or just reinstall OSX ?
     
  4. lman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    Nevermind....

    I finally got it to start up in safe mode.
     
  5. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #5
    I think that the resolution was off on the monitor, and the Mac was staring just fine... glad to hear you got it fixed!
     
  6. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
  7. DougJrS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #7
    What kind of monitor do you have? I had a simmular problem with a Viesonic monitor. I had to get a new Power Mac to fix the problem.

    Doug
     

Share This Page