Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BPK1984

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 16, 2004
I'm new to macs and have heard how mac's don't get virus', or at least not very often. Is it worth $70, to get the virus protection? I'd use the other things too, but my main concern is the virus protection.

Thanks

sethwerkheiser

macrumors regular
Jan 22, 2003
Brooklyn, NY
I think it's worth it. I work on a PC during the day, and having access to my Address Book, which is tightly matched to my .Mac email address, well... I really like that. And the BackUp feature is nice, too. Since getting a new iBook I've been able to restore from my .Mac account and bring my Safari and Address Book up to speed real quick.

So if you need access to email and your address book while on the road and such, I recommend it. The Backup thing is kinda worth it, too, though more tech savvy users would just use server space somewhere else.

dvapplepro

macrumors newbie
Apr 29, 2004
I don’t think that .mac is worth any more then ten dollars. This is coming from a guy that has his own mail server, web server and has a TB file server running out of his house. They give you a mail server, sure but a lot of people do that for free. As with the web site that you make, it is so, so basic that it is great for simple families that would like to show there pictures or movie that the family has taken, other then that it will not really let you code in anyway. The last thing that I think that is really worth while is the backup and the syncing that will do the bookmarks and contacts. Other then that I don’t think that is really worth the 50 to 100 dollars.

Bobby The Gibbons
Crazybobby.com

mac-in-fool

macrumors newbie
Mar 8, 2004