Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cam59

macrumors member
Original poster
May 15, 2004
Arizona
Im going to buy the 12 in iBook in a month or so and was wondering if .Mac is really worth it? Is the mail thing good to have over a free hotmail account and is the anti virus software better than nortan for mac? thanks!

Chip NoVaMac

macrumors G3
Dec 25, 2003
Northern Virginia
For me the virus protection, free software, and email account are worth it long term.

One thought i just had if Apple is listening is an extra free song a week (or maybe a month) from the full iTMS catalog.

Kyan

macrumors newbie
Mar 7, 2004
NYC
.Mac

Cam59 said:
Im going to buy the 12 in iBook in a month or so and was wondering if .Mac is really worth it? Is the mail thing good to have over a free hotmail account and is the anti virus software better than nortan for mac? thanks!

I'm relatively new to Macs, and Yes, I think ,Mac is worth the yearly fee.
Kyan

aswitcher

macrumors 603
Oct 8, 2003
Canberra OZ
Cam59 said:

Yeah I got it. Nice to have the iDisk for offsite backup and sharing of photos and stuff. Virus software is good, and the backup software ok. Access the the tutorial videos is attractive. A few of the special offers (when valid for me) are tempting as well. I got it hoping Apple will be improving it overtime to make it even more worthwild.

Horrortaxi

macrumors 68020
Jul 6, 2003
Los Angeles
I rely on .Mac. iDisk is great and I use .Mac to sync all my computers. The extra stuff they throw in is usually pretty good too.