Macbook 2ghz x 17'' Imac (both C2D) for photographer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pedro nicoli, Nov 17, 2006.

1. pedro nicoli macrumors member

Hi guys,
    i'm a photographer from Brazil, and I need to buy a computer.
    since i'm moving from my parents house, i now need a machine to my own.
    I think of getting a Mac, but i dunno wich one.
    my budget is for a white Macbook 2Ghz, or a 17 inches iMac (not the emac)

As a photographer i use a lot of Photoshop, and thats my main application.
    I sometimes (not often) make some slideshows dvd for my clients and light video editing in Premiere (yeap i use PC at home, but mac at work)

The problem i have with macbook is the screen, wich i think it's small to edit 6 megapixels (10mp, next year) images, and i'm not sure if the glossy will affect me ( i believe that after a few prints, i can get the hang of it, and so know how the image on screen will look on paper) and probably i could buy a a bigger lcd monitor to plug it in.

The Imac seems to be perfect, large enough disk space to store my photos, realy good screen, better graphic card for some occasional gaming and video editing.

BUT the thing about the macbook is mobility! i sometimes have to show my photos to the clients, so i put them on a cd or pendrive. but most of time my clients pc's sucks, with makes everything slow.
    A notebook would solve that, and also, i could work anywhere.

so, what do u think?

2. reflex macrumors 6502a

An iMac would be nicer to work on, I can guarantee that.

But as you say, you could use an external screen with the Macbook and have a portable system.

I would go for the Macbook in this case, at least if I knew I'd be able to buy the external screen within a few months.

3. pedro nicoli thread starter macrumors member

"within a few months"
    that's the exact case! hehehe