Macbook 4,1 upgrade to SSD question

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by phrygianmode, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. phrygianmode, Feb 4, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #1
    First post - thanks in advance:

    Looking to upgrade current 2008 4,1 macbook 250 gb 5400 stock hard-drive to an SSD and put the stock HD in the optical bay. Have been doing some reading here and just want to make sure this is right for the optical bay caddy:

    http://newmodeus.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=220

    EDIT: I think the correct one is actually this: http://newmodeus.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_27&products_id=219

    The website is very confusing in regards to what part of the bay is the PATA/SATA referring to. I'm correct in thinking the drive is SATA but the bay needs to be PATA to function in my blackbook, yes?

    Thanks
    PM
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #3
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    To verify you have an PATA ODD, go to System Profiler > Hardware >> ATA. I that is the case, then the caddy you linked to will work.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #5
    OK just to show my ignorance:

    When I look there it only says ATAPI. I'm assuming this means PATA since it doesn't specifically state SATA. That, and under the SATA header only my original HD is listed (assuming this means it is the only SATA device on my machine).

    Thanks again. I'll copy what's under my system profiler below just in case it helps.

    MATSHITADVD-R UJ-857E:

    Model: MATSHITADVD-R UJ-857E
    Revision: ZF1E
    Serial Number:
    Detachable Drive: No
    Protocol: ATAPI
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal
    Low Power Polling: Yes
    Power Off: Yes
     
  6. Vel
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #6
    It may be a bit of waste connecting a SSD via IDE, it probably won't be as quick as you were hoping, if you do decide to go ahead with this mod it may be worth but in the SSD where your current HDD. Then putting your old HDD in the SuperDrives place,

    Vel
     

Share This Page