MacBook 60gb HD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pojo, Dec 10, 2006.

  1. Pojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #1
    Anyone have a MB with a 60gb HD? If so how do you find it? Enough? Not enough?

    I ask because I just got the cheapest macbook

    1.83ghz
    512mb
    60gb HD
    Combo Drive

    I plan on upgrading the RAM so that it's using 1gb and 256mb together and I was just wondering on the HD. I was also wondering if the Super Drive is much better than the Combo Drive.
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    the Superdrive lets you burn DVD's as well as CD's which is very useful, tbh for just documents I find the 60GB HD is fine. (I have the 2Ghz Macbook CoreDuo)
     
  3. Pojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #3
    Well I wont be burning DVDs, only CDs so thats okay. And I don't really have that many things, only about 2gb music and about 20gb of documents/pictures so thats cool.

    Before I buy the 1gb RAM stick I'm gonna see how the 512mb handles for a week or so.
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    512MB won't be enough, especially if you want to run non-universal software like MS Office, tbh it's probably cheaper to get Apple to upgrade you to 1GB RAM, as it may well be cheaper.
     
  5. theman5725 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #5
    I have the 60GB HD and I have mixed feelings about it. On one hand I am not a really big space user, and I doubt I'm going to run out of space anytime soon. But on the other hand it still feels really limited, and sometimes I want to buy an external for my iTunes library. Apparently however if you delete all these languages and drivers you can a lot space. When I first turned on my MacBook I had like only 30GB of space left! Where did the other 20 go? I know that OS X doesn't take up that much space.
     
  6. Pojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #6
    Apple charge £120 for 2 x 512's, I can get a 1gb stick for £88 and if I use 1gb with 256mb, I can buy another 1gb further down the line and have 2gb. ;)
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    It's £50 for 2x512 :confused:, though I agree buying the RAM separately is more upgradable, it's pretty easy too, though it will reduce the graphics card performance.
     
  8. DanielGilbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    That's what I'm going to do :D

    I have 512mb at the moment, which is pretty restricting really. I've played around on MBs with 1gb and the RAM makes so much difference. I suggest getting the 512mb version, and then buying a 1gb stick immediately to go to 1.25gb.

    Then, when you have the cash, splash out on another 1gb stick and get the full 2gb :D
     
  9. Max Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #9
    I lived with 40GB HD for many years. Any large files are kept in an external HD.

    Keep it, if you needed more space then upgrading is not that hard or expensive.
     
  10. spyderracer393 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #10
    I wouldn't recommend using a 256 MB stick with a 1 GB stick, with the MacBook, the system will run the most efficiently and fastest if your memory is in ordered pairs, meaning both are of the same capacity. If you want to find the cheapest RAM, go to newegg.com and at the minimum, purchase 2 512 MB sticks, if not 2 1 GB sticks...

    Good luck and enjoy it
     
  11. Pojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #11
    I'd rather do it my way, I know many people who use 1gb and 256mb and it's perfect.
     
  12. apachie2k macrumors 6502

    apachie2k

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    was NYC...now MIAMI
    #12
    i'm no math major, yet i must ask what? maybe os X takes up 10 GB, then you used 20 GB, meaning then 30 GB was left...
     
  13. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #13
    i got MB 2.0
    80 Gb HD is ok, but i have 1Gb ram. gotta up it to 2 Gb. find i run out of ram when even a small PPC widget loads. couldn't live with 512Gb as i use 3/4 Gb just surfing, mail, iTunes, and IM. when you figur basic system takes nearly 200Mb just to do nothing...
    but, i wouldnt split up the ram with unlike sticks. it'll run slower on 1¼G than it will on only 1G. i tried that before when a stick of ram went bad an i had to send it back (after 2 years, so get branded ram) do yourself a favor and use identical sticks.
     
  14. Pojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #14
    Thats gonna cost me, from apple, £120 for 2 x 512 then £160 more for whne i upgrade to 2gb. Doesn't seem worth it to me.
     
  15. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #15
    i wouldn't buy apple ram.
    use crucial, viking, kingston, etc. don't spend the money on apple.
    and if you use kingston ram, it won't void wrranty -- costs a few more bucks than cheaper ram, but still less than ½ of what apple costs.
    if you use the cheap ram, and you have to take it to apple for service, they won't touch it -- you'll have to pull out the cheap ram and reinstall the apple ram before taking it in.
    i always go with kingston brand specific ram.
     
  16. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #16
    i have a 60GB HDD in my Macbook, and if they weren't so expensive, i would be getting a bigger HDD like a flash.

    I have 15-20GB in my iTunes library alone (including hundreds of videos), around 5GB in my iPhoto library, a few gig of Apps, etc. and i only have 15GB left. I've moved some of the bigger files on to an 80GB external HDD, but it isnt very convenient (the hdd is old and noisy). I reckon at this point in time, everyone should have at least 80GBs of HDD capacity.

    As for RAM, it comes stock with 2*256 MB, and you need at least a gig to work well with it. you don't need matched pairs, but it does give you a small performance increase. In my MacBook, i swapped one of the 256MB sticks for a gig stick, giving a total of 1.25GB. This gives better performance than 2*512, and makes the upgrade path to 2GB more economical for the future.

    Enjoi your new MacBook! :)
     
  17. almightyshoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Location:
    B-Town, India
    #17
    I had the 60 in mine, but I bought an 80 gig hard drive off these forums because it was dirt cheap (less than 80 cents a gig). I'm a hardcore engineer and programmer, and I still have a little over 30 gigs free.

    But I do have two external hard drives (500 and 300) filled to the brim. So maybe this isn't the best example.

    My advice: get the 60, lurk the marketplace/ebay/craiglist for a bit, you'll find an 80 GB Macbook hard drive for about 60 dollars, then turn your old hard drive into a nifty portable external hard drive.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...53807124+1054107131&Submit=ENE&SubCategory=92
     
  18. Pojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #18
    Cheers guys, if I'm in a computer shop looking for a HD, will it say that it works for Mac or would I have to ask or something? Never bought a HD before.
     
  19. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #19
    get a SATA 2.5" drive

    as long as you're going to go for another HD, for a few bucks more step up to 7200 rpm. Seagate and Hitachi both make one. maybe try the 100G for around $130 (@newegg) it screams. the 80G runs about $94 - same specs.
    remember, your computer is only as fast as the slowest thing in it. HD is the easiest way to make it scream. the reason your notebook runs slower than your desktop is the slower HD that come in it -- 5400rpm came in mine.
    there's actually only 2 options for upgrading -- HD & RAM
    the computer comes ready to run, but with only the barest of necessities. it comes with a slow HD and enough ram to operate the system do only meager things. it's like when you buy a printer - it usually comes with lite-filled ink cartridges and you have to buy full cartridges in a hurry.
    the HD and memory are relative easy to install (under the battery)
     

Share This Page