Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Savior

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2013
I plan on buying a new Macbook Air as my second computer because I will have a desktop setup with dual 24" monitors as my main workstation. I'm a computer engineering student so I wanted portability to take notes/programming but don't need too much power since it'll be used as a secondary computer.

I'm stuck between the 11" and 13"
Anticipated specs: i5, 256gb, 8 gb ram (any tips on these would be helpful too)

Uses:
  • Taking notes/programming in class (on those tiny lecture hall desks)
  • Second computer while at dorms/school
  • Main computer while back at home
  • Programming (Xcode, eclipse)
  • Gaming (MW3 via Boot Camp)

UPDATE Just got my Air 11"!
My Conclusions so Far:

I have to say I really love the portability. I almost prefer it to my Windows 7 dual monitor machine because Mac OS is so much easier to use with the multiple desktops and other user friendly gestures.
The screen is quite small, but over longer periods I think my eyes and brain are getting accustomed to it. I don't know why that happens but I just completely forget about the small screen and get zoned into whatever I'm doing.

Gaming:
I just loaded boot camp and parallels to try out some gaming. I got BF3 to work at around 30 FPS at low settings and MW3 to work at 60 FPS at low settings. The screen is terribly too small to game but it does its job as a portable second computer I suppose. The fans blaze extremely loud yet I feel no air going in/out. Temps are around 80-90C. Is this dangerous for the lifespan of my air?

Programming:
I just installed eclipse and xcode and they seem to load quickly and I don't see any lag so far. The vertical height of the screen is somewhat of a problem but nothing moving a few toolbars around can't solve.

I'll update more as I use it more. But so far so good.

Last edited:

Mrbobb