Macbook Air 2011 13" dead

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ravic, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #1
    When i turn it on the fans spin at high speed but nothing else happens. Attempted to reset PRAM, SMC etc. Nothing changed.

    I had to drop it off at the apple store this morning. They said either the MB, display or SSD could be dead. I bought it on release day.

    I searched through the forums and have not heard anyone report this type of issue.

    Did anyone run into this kind of issue?.
    I have had several macbooks over the years and never ran into this type of issue. I was actively using the air when it completely froze. It was not even anything CPU intensive, just typing a document.

    It does worry me a little since this happend right in the middle of my business travel week. I bought this thing for portability.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Florida
    #2
    So if you're getting it fixed.... why is there a need to post a topic on it?

    Not being a wet noodle or anything, but wouldn't it be more helpful to get it back and then tell us why it was broken? So in the future if somebody searches and finds this topic, they'd know more about it?

    It could be a number of things though; me telling you x, y, z, t, w, or f isn't going to help. It'd just be me saying "maybe this" and you saying "hmm, that seems possible, anybody else?"

    And then the topic would continue for no reason whatsoever. And then you'd get it back, we'd all know, and then we would have effectively wasted our time.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #3
    Sometimes you just get faulty hardware. It even happens with self-built PCs; not much you can do about it.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
  5. macrumors 6502

    3dflyboy1

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #5
    Let us know what was actually wrong with it when you get it back.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    rhinosrcool

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    I'm sorry, but you are being a wet noodle. If my mba suddenly stopped working, I'm sure that I would post some kind of rant.

    Hopefully, the op's either fixed or new air works great.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #7
    maybe your brightness is all the way down. happened to me before. for some reason the brightness set itself to 0. once i turned it up it was fine.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #8
    Lol, I did not check that. Hopefully the Genius bar guy verified if that was the case.

    I will certainly post what was fixed when i get it back. I am not really complaining. The scale at which these are produced it is just my luck that i got the faulty one :(
    I guess it is my turn this time.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Sorry to hear about your MBA. Fortunately for the rest of us it doesn't seem to be a widespread problem. For what it's worth if it had been my MBA I would have also posted right away. Post back when you get an update from Apple, I think we are all intersted in knowing what went wrong.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    ref26

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #10
  11. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #11
    I had a similar issue with my 2010 MacBook Air. While it wasn't completely DOA, a lot of times it wouldn't wake up from sleep unless I did a hard reset. Apple replaced it on the spot and the new one was fine. In this day and age, rates of DOA PCs are pretty similar among manufacturers (since the same suppliers make them for almost every manufacturer).

    Hopefully you'll get a fixed/replaced system soon and be able to enjoy your new purchase. :apple:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #12
    I got it back last week. They had to replace the system board.

    I use it for development and use vmware fusion quite a bit in addition to all development tools.

    Definitely a lot of CPU intensive tasks.

    I have to see how the new system board holds up
     

Share This Page