Macbook Air "good enough"?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mrbriskly, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I currently use a Lenovo. At least, until yesterday. :mad: I dropped it and died on me, so I need to make a choice.

    Before I lay out my choices, here are my primary uses for my computer:
    -Daily 8+ hours of Skype (MAIN USE!) with my girlfriend.
    -Occasional Adobe lightroom use (RAM intense!)

    -Social media, and surfing
    -Light Microsoft office.
    -Spotify

    My question is, is the Macbook Air (dual-core...) good enough for my tasks above? I plan to get the 1.8Ghz dual-core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB config ($1600). I'd love 512GB but no way I'm shelling out $500 to add another 256 GB.

    If not I plan to get the Mac Mini with the 2.6 i7 upgrade and fusion drive, and upgrade the RAm to 16GB myself + a 2nd cheap monitor (total $1400). I'll also have to buy a webcam.

    Or an iMac w/ fusion drive and 16GB RAM upgrades (5200 rpm so no choice, and no customizable RAM :mad:... oh apple), that'll be about $1700.

    What do you guys think?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    KylePowers

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #2
    Well... do you need a laptop?
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    MontCo., PA
  4. macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Skype, Lightroom, Spotify, and a browser capable of doing the web usage you are talking about are all cross-platform apps. KylePowers is right, do you need a laptop? But also, do you even need a Mac? A PC that will effectively run all of that will cost you a fraction of both the cost of that Air and that mini. Otherwise, yes, either of those two Macs will be more than enough.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #5
    My girlfriend uses a Mac, and I used to use macs back in school, so I miss the fluidity of the Mac OS. Moreover I value portability because my family lives in Madrid, and my girlfriend in the east coast, so I tend to travel.

    Very willing to pay the premium.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    KylePowers

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #6
    Then yes, the MBA you described will suit you just swell and I think you'll enjoy it.

    You could always get an external monitor or Thunderbolt display for it if you want a desk setup as well.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    #7
    I think a 12 core Mac Pro will be the best option for skype. its pretty intensive. 32GB RAM minimum.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #8
    Then you can use facetime too.

    Buy a mac, always.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #9
    If your GF has a Mac then drop Skype and use FaceTime, works much better IMO.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #10
    Oh? the last time I tried it (last year) it had several audio problems on my gf's laptop. Guess I'll try it when I get it.

    Guess the verdict is in then? MBA is good enough. *goes out to buy a hard drive to compensate for tiny flash drive*
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    #11
    8+ hours a day skyping with your girlfriend? :eek:
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #12
    THE AIR ISN'T GOOD ENOUGH... The air is by far the best laptop (performance/value/qualities) for 99% of users.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #13
    She lives in the east coast, I'm on the west. go figure :p

    Do hope that facetime will be a good replacement. I don't think I could run lightroom while simultaneously skyping w/ my gf.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #14
    I guess it's a dating thing. I can assure you my wife and I couldn't fill 8 hours a day of Skype conversation :D
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #15
    So I gave facetime a try at the Apple store... it takes forever for it to connect. Even if it does, it rings on our iPhones but not our macs. We tried calling from both sides, but it rings on the other's iPhone only. =(
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #16
    A MBA will be good enough. Enjoy!
     
  17. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #17
    Make sure everything is set up correctly. Facetime rings on ALL my Apple devices, iPhone, MBA and iPad.
     

Share This Page